Skip to content

Professor Adam Lambert’s seminar on vocal technique

January 20, 2012

Tweeted out today between 4:15 and 5:50PM EST

At 99.7FM

a lil music education moment: FALSETTO. It’s not full, belted out chest voice. It’s small, light pretty head voice. Widely misunderstood. 🙂

…not to b rude – but it’s so often used to describe my voice but I hardly ever use my falsetto. Jus’ sayin’
One of my fav examples of a wicked falsetto is “Kiss” by Prince. A full tenor chest voice is “Open Arms” by Journey. get the distinction?
Q. @go4itanywy@adamlambert what is it called when the voice “shakes” a little on high notes?
A. @go4itanywy that’s called Vibratto. 😉
RT “@lestermendez@adamlambert BUT, when you do sing falsetto, its pure and utter win!” hahah thanks Lester!!
Q. nrhgardner@adamlambert You’re belts are mixed though aren’t they? As in not all out chest? Sounds craaaazzzy whatever it is.
A. @nrhgardner naw I don’t do much of a mix. (prob would be ‘safer’ for my voice, but..)
Haha this is fun. All you singers know exactly what I’m talking about.
@PersianGlamDr on the last album i used falsetto in Broken Open, A Loaded Smile and the “eyes baby eyes” part of Music Again.
Q. @CazGlambert:  I THOUGHT FALSESETTO WAS WAN U WENT REALLY HIGH.
A. @CazGlambert_ only when it’s high and really light. If its powerful and loud it’s called a “belt” “full” or “chest voice”.
Q. AhhhAdam@adamlambert And on “nervous” in Mad World.
A. @AhhhAdam yes. Good example. The “nervous” line. But the big “look right thru me aaaaand…” was a belt.
BTIKM is def not falsetto. It’s fuckin high! Def tricky. 🙂 but it feels so great to wail that out. Cathartic.
The difference isn’t so much about the note being hit, it’s HOW it’s being hit. Bass/alto/tenor/soprano are vocal ranges.
Ok. Nuff of all that. I’m such a nerd.
But if u wanna hear more great falsetto check out Jeff Buckley, Matthew Bellamy of Muse and Radiohead. 🙂
A. @JoStBeans haha yes. The BeeGees sang most of their tunes in Falsetto.
Q. @adamsminion: At your next class can you explain what a bridge, hook, etc are? Pros talk about the bridge in BTIKM. What is it? *feelin dumb*
A. @adamsminion ok! A bridge is the middle section of a song that is diff from the rest. the bridge in BTIKM starts w “I get kinda dark”… a hook is the catchy part that gets stuck in your head. Usually they’re in a chorus, and sometimes they’re elsewhere. the hook in WWFM is the line “whattaya want from me”. The guitar plays it at the beginning and it’s in a post-chorus.
Another GREAT falsetto singer is Justin Timberlake. He uses it all the time. And he’s real good at it.
A. @AidanMcEwan middle 8 and bridge are the same thing. Two different names. 🙂

Another example of falsetto is the incredibly sexy jam “Hypnotize U” by N.E.R.D. Pharrell werks that vocal out!


negativeneil
@adamlambert pretty sure I use my falsetto more often during a GOP debate than you do when you sing. Well put.
@milestougeaux@negativeneil @adamlambert I prefer to use the Saw Palmetto

milestougeaux: oops nasty ellipsis… @adamlambert Old School: youtu.be/alLgxBUcMbc

It Will Rain by Bruno Mars is in chest voice. The only part that’s falsetto is the OOOOh’s. He has got one hell of a voice! Big fan.

Q. nieceyE@adamlambert What’s the difference between a run and a riff?

A. @nieceyE another interchangeable term. Means the same thing.

Q. allakovalkova: And what do you think about Mika’s voice?

A. @allakovalkova yeah Mika!! Another good example of falsetto.

reevecarney@adamlambert I’m with you. Bruno is great. And so are you.

A. @reevecarney thanks Reeve!

My morning! http://www.997now.com/adamlambert

@stefdwe: “Adam Lambert at my gate at SFO. (For American Idol fans)”

7 Comments leave one →
  1. atomom permalink
    January 20, 2012 7:06 pm

    The men in Adam’s family are a riot, which explains Adam’s wit and humor. I could just see Neil’s jugular veins distended at a GOP debate, and Dad popping his saw palmetto pills to stave off his going to “sleep” prematurely.

  2. January 20, 2012 7:07 pm

    thanks for the script. I was sitting here during this impromptu twitter party and still missed some of these @ replies! Great fan and artist interaction.

  3. January 20, 2012 7:22 pm

    Part of Adam’s intelligence is his phenomenal memory. Imagine the catalogue of sounds and songs and artists that come up when he searches his computer brain for information. He’s a veritable cauldron of information on a subject he’s intimate with, a propensity for which he instinctively ejected himself out of college after five weeks into his course.

  4. January 20, 2012 11:39 pm

    Like any good musician, Adam has an intense knowledge of the capabilities of his instrument. He manipulates his voice as a guitarist might his axe, a saxophonist her horn or a pianist the ivories. That he patiently (and seemingly gleefully) answered questions and gave good examples only made my respect for him as a musician increase.

  5. January 21, 2012 3:29 pm

    About a year ago (OMG, already!) I voiced the option of Adam could have his own vocal classes, probably at his own contemporary music academy….He easily can do this.

    In my view, people admiration about Adam’s personality (and Mother Nature, first of all) is due to the unique combination of his inherited talants (voice, drawing gift, sense of harmony, physical build) and character traits (inherited from his parents, for sure) with the sharp intellect multiplied by subtle intuition. Such a combination is extremely rare in our world.

    Such persons like Adam are the real Mother Nature (read The Creator’s) masterpieces and should be admired, protectively and gently treated. Even when this Masterpiece kicks up a turmoil someday…close to the Polar circle…in the land of Joulupukki…let’s forgive him such neurometabolic bursts…

    Because, for our wisdom & kindness, we will be rewarded by highest pleasure of being soaked with vocal energy, taking us through the thrilling catharsis towards the Universal harmony.

    The Masterpice himself – namely Adam Lambert, – should also realize both his power and vulnaribility and should not spoil the Creator’s Masterpiece.

  6. Kim - motheranimal on Twitter permalink
    January 22, 2012 3:07 pm

    Unfortunately I was unable to “attend” Adam’s Twitter Party this time:( I’ve been fortunate enough to “attend” others in the past:) I’m caring for five children while their parents are away. Fear not! When they are all in bed for the night, I treat myself to my “Adam Time”! I put them to bed at 3:00 p.m….LOL…just joking Hey! Whatdaya Want From Me? Through my love and adoration of Adam, I’ve made wonderful friends all over the world! I call my special friends from our Adam Fandom my “Adam Lambert Soul Mates”! Through Adam, I’ve become close with a very dear and special teenage girl in Russia! She and her mom are huge Adam fans! With her mom’s permission and approval, Olga and I communicate regularly through email and Twitter. I’ve experienced tremendous joy in sending Olga gifts! She explained that where she lives, there is nothing with Adam’s image on it and she can’t find his music on sale in local stores. I’ve sent assorted Adam photos, posters, apparel and cds as well as other fun surprises that any teenager would love:) She is always thrilled beyond words 🙂 Olga studies English in the Russia. She reads as many Adam Lambert news letters, articles and blogs as she can. Coupled with her hard work and our frequent correspondence, she has become fairly fluent in reading and understanding the English language. Her mom is thrilled with her high achievement scores! I’ve learned to converse with Olga in clear yet simple terms that she is able to understand and grasp:) Olga writes to me using Broken English and how beautiful is this since Adam titled on of his songs on his album TRESPASSING…”Broken English”! Olga was very intrigued with Adam’s thoughts and words from his recent Twitter Party. She attempted to research some of the terminology. I spent time simplifying and explaining what Adam said in his Twitter Party. I was able to help Olga understand all the vocal techniques as described and explained by Adam and she was thrilled! It makes me SO HAPPY to be …”connected with love”…just as Adam encourages us all to be!

    • January 23, 2012 1:36 am

      Thanks for making me smile. Such a lovely story of a beautiful friendship, one of thousands born because of Adam! – xox J

Leave a comment