Skip to content

Adam Lambert Update December 22, 2019

December 22, 2019

By Juneau. On Twitter @JuneauXena & @AdamLambertBook.

“You don’t need abs if you have good friends and family.”
–Adam Lambert in Glamour UK interview

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

ADAM ON WHAT KEEPS HIM POSITIVE

Superb interview with Adam on Paul McKenna’s Positivity Podcast. “Long-time fan” Paul McKenna, PhD, is a British hypnotist, behavioural scientist, television broadcaster and author of self-help books.  People who inspired him: definitely a student of music. Love artists who don’t follow the top-40 trends. Postmodern. It’s creative, what people are inspired by and put their own spin on it.

Character traits that brought him to this place?  I’m never satisfied, always pushing. I don’t give up easily. I keep pushing. I have a love for performing for people.

Addicted to the flow? Ego is validated; no one hates that feeling. Energy that’s exchanged, my battery is recharged. Have talked to Brian and Roger about it.

Music is the best medicine.  I love anything that makes me want to dance. Love ambient, softer things, down tempo. A band called Jungle puts me in the zone.

How to relax? Seeing friends. I have groups of friends all over the world. I’m a chatter, love to hear what people are going through in their lives.

What do people not understand about you? That I’m tall.

Proudest achievement? This collaboration with Queen has been iconic. A big honor. How to handle stepping into Freddie Mercury’s shoes? Denial (laughs). Tequila.

Favorite Queen song? Love the AOBTD album. Someone to Love. I love them all.

Handling criticism? Par for the course. In the beginning, I was more affected by stuff like that. Now I have a thicker skin and know that’s just the way it is if you’re a public figure.

Anything you wish you’d done differently? Wish I’d felt more secure as a younger person. Also I would tell my younger self this is the best you’ll ever look. Stop tearing yourself apart. But that’s what getting older is. You get wiser. I’ve been in therapy.

What makes you happy? Being creative. In music industry, it become about the business, can get too far away from being an artist. Making sure my creativity is insulated, it’s sacred. I didn’t fall in love with the business. I fell in love with the art. Have to make the right decisions, ask what’ motivating me.

If the world were ending, what changes would you make in your life? I would stop working and be with the people I love. Connection and love. Play with my little nephew. Would want to be with my dog and my parents. Dogs make your heart grow.

What has made you strongest? I always question things, which can be a pain in the ass.  It allows me to strive for the truth and not be taken advantage of. I’m always trying to find out more.

What’s your purpose? I’m a performer. Spiritually, that’s my service. It gives me a purpose. I’m made for this.

Have you come back from dark territory? Yeah. I’m 37 now. Your hormones change. And I’ve worked, my lifestyle is not routine or super grounded, so I have to find ways to ground myself and stay happy. Being on stage is the best medicine.

One piece of advice? Don’t be scared. Fear is debilitating and holds people back from their purpose, their happiness. When I was in my twenties, I realized I was holding myself back because of fear. When you take a chance, that’s when things happen. I can be a real pessimist. I have to consciously work on looking at things in a positive way. It can be a positive. It keeps me wanting to be better. It keeps me from becoming complacent. I’m my own toughest critic.  I need to learn to enjoy things more.

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

THE BOWERY BALLROOM

https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

THE VOICE

Adam Lambert’s “Believe” Re-Enters Top 10 On US iTunes Sales Chart Following “The Voice” Performance. “Earlier this month, Adam Lambert released his cover of Cher’s “Believe” to ample fanfare. The song entered the Top 10 on the US iTunes sales chart during its first few days of release. Tuesday, he reignited interest in the song with a high-profile television performance. Lambert joined third-place “The Voice” finisher Katie Kadan for a duet on the finale. Outside the Top 100 prior to the performance, “Believe” had rocketed back into Top 10 by the day after.”

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

FANTASY SPRINGS

Excellent video of full set from @thefilmqueen

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

EL REY BALLROOM

https://www.instagram.com/p/B6Xf-VRJ7Mb/

@lizwandersee. When you meet #BillKaulitz at an @adamlamber show!!! ❤️❤️❤️ @tokiohotel

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

FOXWOODS

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

DEPARTMENT OF EYE CANDY

Photo by mona @40129aquarius

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

PRESS AND BLOG PICKS

Billboard – The 20 Best LGBTQ Albums of 2019: Staff Picks.  “It appears that touring with Queen only helped make Adam Lambert better. The first half of his solo project Velvet (the second is due out in 2020) shows audiences a more mature, refined version of the glam rock star they came to know on American Idol. Lambert refuses to box his sound in, gliding between soulful ballads (“Closer To You”), ‘70s funk (“Overglow”) and his classic pop-rock sound (“Superpower”). It’s all in the title — Lambert’s EP is a smooth as velvet.”

Billboard – Best Moments From Adam Lambert’s Solo Show at New York’s Bowery Ballroom. “From the moment he swaggered onto the stage, Lambert made it clear that he was there to have a good time — decked out in a long, leather-esque trenchcoat and a pair of white, oval, Kurt Cobain-esque sunglasses, as he stomped out the chorus to his Velvet: Side A bop, “Stranger You Are.” As he skillfully transitioned into his superb single “Superpower,” he stripped away the exterior outfit to reveal a stunning emerald green suit covered with glitter. When it comes to openings, Lambert knows how to wow an audience.”

The Day – Review: Adam Lambert’s superpower in Foxwoods concert? It’s his voice. “You have your wonders of the world: The Great Wall of China. Machu Picchu. And Adam Lambert’s voice. In his Sunday concert at Foxwoods’ Grand Theater, Lambert’s vocals were pliable and potent — and not in a way that was about doing mindless acrobatics but in a way that brought emotion and nuance to each number. He exhibited a seemingly effortless command of every note.”

Glamour Magazine –  Adam Lambert calls BS on toxic masculinity and discusses why beauty & gender is not only skin deep. We somehow missed this excellent interview published in May in the UK edition. “When I started ten years ago, I remember the way I felt about my relationship with masculinity and femininity. I felt like I had a point to prove. I was trying to make a statement because I didn’t see a lot of it and it was frustrating because I understood exactly what I was trying to say but I think it was misinterpreted at times. Nowadays, that whole conversation is definitely in the fore front and the masses are understanding that masculinity can be toxic, that pushing it too hard or trying too hard to be a man has repercussions. It puts a lot of stress on a young man regardless of sexuality. Trying to fit into this idea of what a man is can be so limited. I still don’t think these conversations are being talked about enough with young men and teenage boys. It’s incredibly important to give guys a break in those fundamental years.”

LA Weekly – MUSIC PICK: ADAM LAMBERT. “Adam Lambert has been touring the world and making a whole bunch of new friends as the de facto singer with Queen. Following the success of the Bohemian Rhapsody biopic, the world was clamoring for Queen in whichever form they could get, and Lambert did a sublime job of filling the giant gap left by the legendary Freddie Mercury. But Lambert is also a successful solo artist who has sold over three million albums and five million singles in the past decade. He has a new album, Velvet: Side B, on the way, no doubt another collection of flamboyant glam-pop gems which will please the thousands of glamberts out there. Lambert is perfect for Queen, but he can more than cut it on his own too.

AZ Central – A look back at 2019’s biggest metro Phoenix concerts, from Garth Brooks to Paul McCartney. “Queen + Adam Lambert made their first appearance on a Valley stage since “Bohemian Rhapsody” became the most successful biopic of all time. And the band’s sold-out Talking Stick Resort Arena concert felt at least a little like a victory lap for Queen, whose popularity has not only endured but transcended the comforting glow of nostalgia. Adam Lambert is the second singer Brian May and Roger Taylor have recruited since Freddie Mercury’s passing. And he’s definitely risen to the challenge in a way that suits the music and the memory of Mercury much better than their previous attempt to fill the void. With Lambert, you get the flamboyance and the awe-inspiring vocal range that makes it feel like he was born to sing these songs.”

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

TWEET BEAT

https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

Browse previous Updates
Please subscribe and receive email updates.  For the fascinating, hilarious and gripping story of how this amazing global community came into existence, read our book On the Meaning of Adam Lambert! More relevant today than ever!

No comments yet

Leave a comment