Skip to content

Queen + Adam Lambert in Dallas – Some Memories

July 21, 2014
Need photo credit

Need photo credit

By Paula Coots

Writers are supposed to be able to snatch at the ineffable; to describe, even if imperfectly, the indescribable.

Well, we can all try, though I’m not sure how to encapsulate the myriad of emotion and sensation that transported me on July 10, 2014.

So many great accounts have been written about the magnitude of these shows, I’m going to spare you most of my personal details, as precious as they are to me. They are probably a lot like yours, and already told with such grace.

Since I got the ticket in March, I’ve avoided Facebook and Twitter and every other form of social media known to mankind. I wanted my one concert in Dallas to be as close to the concerts of yore as possible. You never knew what to expect “back in the day”. You were lucky if you got an appearance on “The Midnight Special” or caught a photo here and there, like those in Circus Magazine.

YouTube is a wonderful thing…no doubt. Our world is so much broader now, and like you guys, I find myself sucked into the vortex of Adam Lambert in a state of amused—and quite often, awed—bliss. You can get lost for days.

Right now, now, though, I’m only dipping in a toe here or there. I’m still avoiding most of the videos, because I just want my own memories to hang on a little bit longer!

What’s that saying? “Too soon?”

Yeah, because before you can even blink…it won’t be “too soon” anymore.

Those visceral memories will inevitably fade.

***

Photo by @Suebluern

Photo by @Suebluern

Do I have a favorite performance or song? Not really. This show slayed me, pretty much from the rapid disappearance of the glorious, crested curtain to the last gleeful bow from the band.

The best aspect for me was being close enough to see their expressions. I wish I could have had a camera embedded in my eyes that also recorded in perfect, distortion free audio!

Ha, gross, but probably it’ll be here in the not too distant future.

Anyway, it appeared to me as if Roger, Brian and Adam were each taking in the entire venue, more than individual faces.

It was like they knew…hey. This is probably it, guys.

I was five rows back in the VIP, so when they were on the end of the catwalk, all I had to do was turn in my chair and get on my knees for a unique perspective. Now, sometimes that precluded me from seeing some of the stuff I wanted to see.

Especially Killer Queen from the front!

Well, at least I saw that Roger was wearing some super cool, red velour looking Nike’s!

lindsayinthesky86

lindsayinthesky86

I remember WWTLF especially. It was as if Brian and Adam stood caught in a cage of light so white it was almost blue. They were about fifteen feet away from me, and yes, we were all there, but maybe to them… it appeared that they were the only two people in the room, surrounded by this nimbus of light and sound. They were this song that is as close to perfect as I’ve ever heard. I remember Adam dropping his head back as he usually does, but man, what a beautiful tableau.

More random memories.

I remember the back of the “Killer Couch”…the way his platform shoes hung off the edge and even his ankles danced. I saw that butterfly-fast golden fan in front of that profile that just does me in with its perfection. One gloved hand draped over the back of the sofa, and I wanted a picture of it so bad. The boy just moves so fast!

Needless to say…blur.

I remember watching Brian from the back during his solo, and he seemed so small, almost frail. And yet the virtuosity of his playing, the way those high, singing notes cried like a violin…It was just him and his guitar, mesmerizing the audience and filling the huge hall until it felt like it was about to blow apart.

And he didn’t seem small at all.

All over the place, Adam singing, so wild and free, like a siren from another realm.

lindsayinthesky86

lindsayinthesky86

The absolute surprise and joy on Brian and Roger’s faces as Adam hit that killer note on We are the Champions. I loved seeing them laugh, delighted and impressed, and then that little boy look on Adam’s face like, “Aww. But I got you!”

The magic of performance is that, even if it is captured on film, it is created and expressed right there, in that moment, and it will only live in exactly that same way.

If you are lucky enough to experience it live (and not all of us get that chance) it is a mind-blowing spectacle that’ll touch you forever as long as you open up and let it inside. It doesn’t matter if you’re on the front row or up in the sky seats.

And ultimately, watching on your computer screens, long after those moments are gone, ain’t too shabby, neither.

Those performances are no longer completely gone, like in those prehistoric days before cell phones and the internet. The shows are no longer captured only in ephemeral memory cells. They are also captured in pixels. Yay!

And it won’t be long now before I’m saying to myself, “It’s not too soon anymore.”

***

No matter how many shows we see live or watch online, we want more! Closer seats, better angles, backstage passes, to live next door or at least run in the same circles. Hell, we don’t know what we want. We just want more.

25 Comments leave one →
  1. el Kat permalink
    July 23, 2014 10:09 pm

    Thanks Paula, a wonderful review. It is true, we all take away something personal, some piece of Adam that we need to fulfill our dreams, to satisfy some yearning, to scratch some inner place that has been itching since Idol.
    I was at the first show in CT with several of the Glambertinas in residence here … that was a treat in itself, a truly shared experience, a grown-up girlfriend sleep-over where we were able to giggle, laugh and examine every detail bit by beautiful bit. We were even treated to a live seminar by the one and only Xena who had us squealing in delight !!!
    I, too, had avoided the videos, wanted to feel the show for the first time without any inner echoes of familiarity. It worked …. by the 3rd song i was a crying sobbing mess, could barely breath and and felt such pride you would think I birthed the glorious man himself!
    You would think that after 5 years of daily immersion in the life of AFL you would think that I would be immune to such emotion! I have heard every song, watched every interview, learned the words of every Queen song to be ready, and yet, there he was and I was a mess!!! A lovely Adam fan in front of me took pity and hugged me …. she had been to MSG and totally understood, she had already made it through the first.
    Xena was sitting with me and we hugged and sighed at the beautiful orb of light during Who Wants To Live Forever It was sheer perfection, a voice angels would envy, an arena of upturned faces and open mouths in disbelief that we were witnessing such beauty. We clung to each other in joy!

    Then there was the prophetic, come full circle moment of Bohemian Rhapsody. When he started with “Mama, just killed a Man” I was flooded with memories of that youthful, boyish Adam at the Idol auditions. Did ANY of us think this would happen? Did we foresee this moment? If you say yes you are lying!!! Here he is, triumphant, conquering, blissful, joyful and playing a part that NO ONE else could possibly do. As a man said during a pre-concert dinner ” he is not playing in the sandbox any more” and I could not agree more. He has the world in his hands and we still have a wild ride ahead of us!!!!

    I went to a second show in Boston with my son and he has not stopped thanking me. he was blown away!!! As were ALL the Queen fans around me!

    I have one more show on Friday and I mean to absorb every feeling because it must last ….. until next time. Oh yes, there will be a next time!!!!

    • Paula Coots permalink
      July 31, 2014 4:01 pm

      You captured the feelings perfectly. Adam fits in with Queen so well it’s almost scary!!

  2. clare permalink
    July 26, 2014 3:55 am

    Thanks El Kat. Much appreciated.

  3. clare permalink
    July 26, 2014 3:57 am

    btw. Would anyone know how I would be able to personally get a hold of the blogger in chief?

  4. buffy522 permalink
    July 31, 2014 3:15 pm

    Great review Paula! Just now reading it. So glad to see you there in the same section! Insanely expensive but so worth it. It is astounding how much better this show is live. Hope more get to see it. They need to go on forever! Adam’s personality it palpable!

    • Paula Coots permalink
      July 31, 2014 4:00 pm

      Thank you! It was an amazing, emotional, rock n roll thrill ride. I’m so glad you got to see it live, too. It about broke my bank account, too, but like you said…it was worth it.

  5. rosemary permalink
    August 1, 2014 1:46 am

    Yes, a great “read”, Paula. Thank you. So fun to vicariously share in others’ experiences at these concerts. Aren’t we lucky? I feel now–after several N.E.concerts– much like I did the summer after Adam’s IDOL season was over–constantly overjoyed and glued to the computer late at night gobbling up as much Adam (and Queen this round) as I can. In other words, obsessed to the max!!

    • Paula Coots permalink
      August 1, 2014 7:31 pm

      Thank you, Rosemary! I’m so glad we get to share the joy.

  6. rosemary permalink
    August 1, 2014 1:51 am

    P.S, to Paula– Love your last paragraph in bold ending with “Hell, we don’t know what we want, we just want more.” Expresses that craving perfectly.

Leave a Reply

