Skip to content

Getting to “Live Proud” in Hollywood

July 10, 2013

By Thea

LiveProudI’d been excited for days, ever since Juneau told me about this “Adam” contest she’d entered and then her totally unexpected win. She’d told me about the contest the day before she found out she’d won and had even mentioned that, if she were to win (adding, “I never win things like this”), she wanted me to be her guest to go to L.A. with her to meet ADAM LAMBERT. When she did win, how could I refuse (silly wabbit)?!

So the next week was the craziest in my life: what should I wear to meet Adam, the young man whose voice and looks give me the shivers even at my somewhat-advanced age? Should I get my hair done, dyed and trimmed if not cut? Do my nails? I never do my nails but hey, this is ADAM LAMBERT, he of the perfect, multi-hued nail polish. Naked nails? I don’t think so. “Naked Love” maybe, but nails? Uh uh. And what shoes to wear? Juneau and I were in daily email contact, sometimes more than once, to analyze these world-shaping issues.  All our emails either began or ended with “OMG! OMG! OMG!” and the question, “Is this really happening?!”

When Juneau let the cat out of the bag to the sisters in the Lounge, things got even crazier in a good way. I asked for advice and man, did it come! What to wear? Decided. The “goddess dress” with the anatomically-correct stick figures! Shoes? Golden sandals, as a goddess would wear. Fingernails? A deep bluish-red to accent a color in the dress and the “goddess” gold, ruby and diamond ring I wear of an abstract rose in the morning, sparkling with dewdrops. Toenails? Gold to match the sandals, of course. Purse? One mysteriously appeared on a K-Mart rack, on sale, a cross-body faux leather drawstring pouch reminiscent of a primitive one for coinage and sacred stones. Considering that my given name is from the name of the island that birthed Diana, goddess of the moon and the hunt, this girl was good to go.

Indio close upI even chose a photo of Adam taken at the Fantasy Springs concert for him to sign. The picture embodies “Indio,” a character in my “Starlight Trilogy” fantasy books who “mentors” newly-arrived souls after their passing from Earth. The expression on Adam’s face is perfect for an Ethereal who has just manifested as a Human for the first time–disbelief, amazement, wonder and joy. I hoped he would sign it as “Indio” for me.

Juneau and I began the countdown: 4 days, 3 days, 2 days. TOMORROW! I’d been so cool and collected until the countdown began. Then it dawned on me: this WAS really happening. That’s when the shivers and shaking started. OK, I knew how I’d look, but WHAT TO SAY TO ADAM? It had to be perfect, right? Adoring, grateful, with just a hint of sexiness and most importantly, humor. After all, a goddess cannot be overwhelmed! Well, OK, maybe a little overwhelmed.

It didn’t help that the management company for this momentous event hadn’t said a word about what the timing of the meet & greet would be. Was this going to be a one-on-one with each winner getting a few minutes of private time with Adam (there were 10 winners in all, each one accompanied by their guest)? Maybe a two-on-one (control yourselves, ladies), with each winner and their guest getting maybe 2 minutes of private time? Or would this just be a photo shoot like usual, if you can call anything about Adam “usual”? This brought on more pieces of advice from the sisters. One thing they all had in common—WRITE IT DOWN, because when you look into those smoky yet clear blue-gray-green eyes, everything in your brain floats away, including your name.  “Ha,” my inner goddess said. “No way am I forgetting this.” Silly wabbit.

So I concoct this absolute perfection of a greeting. It was all of the above, ready and just waiting for the head-back, open-throated (ladies!) laugh that would issue forth from Adam’s too-perfect lips. (Yes, it’s true, my obsession began with his lips, then traveled to his broad, manly shoulders—omg—until he tattooed one of them so now I’m back to the lips thing.)

TRAVEL DAY

I’m awake way too early for a night owl like myself, but hell, who cares, it’s for Adam.  My “thingses” are packed and “ready to roll,” just like in some song lyrics I heard once—or twice—or too many times to count. I’m downstairs for my shuttle ride to the airport before the driver can even call me to tell me he’s 12 minutes away. What, me early?! But like I said, it’s for ADAM. And miss this plane? HELL no. Shuttle Driver has to stop and pick up two more passengers. I’m thinking, “Who ARE these people? Don’t they know I’ve got places to go, someone to do (oops, Freudian slip there). On top of that (another slip—sorry), Shuttle Driver takes some route through town I’ve never seen before to get to the highway to get to the access road to get to the airport’s east terminal, where my itinerary says my flight check-in is.

OK, you knew there had to be something. Here we go.

The things we go through for our Adam.

So the first thing is, the itinerary says that I’m flying “Alaska/Frontier” airlines and, since I’ve never heard of “Alaska Airlines,” I go to the Frontier counter. Wrong. I have to schlep me AND my luggage across to the American Eagle counter which, by the way, is on the other (west) side of the airport right next to the Alaska Airlines counter. GRRR, I think. But, I remind myself, it’s for Adam!

The flight wasn’t bad, if you like small airplanes with only 4 seats across (that’s how small it was) and snacks you have to pay $4 for. But we got there and on time at 5:20 PM. But then I blew out my knee. What follows all happened while I was in a wheelchair. But it was for Adam so I didn’t mind the throbbing. Much.

It took me a while to get to baggage claim, which I had to go to because all my thingses don’t fit into carry-on baggage. With the help of Wheelchair Guy I get my stuff and start looking around for someone with a sign that says my name: “Goddess Thea.” I don’t see one, though. In fact, I don’t see anyone with a sign. Or anyone at all. Bad. But, but, it’s for … Adam!

I decide to call the Hotel to see/hear what the problem was. Except for one thing. The itinerary has the Hotel’s address on it but no phone number. So there’s the challenge of being in a wheelchair and finding someone willing to find the number for me (I have a very old cell phone). Plus I’m in the wheelchair and Wheelchair Guy has left. Anyway, I finally find Phone Number Guy who finds the number to the Hotel, which can’t help me because the “car service” wasn’t booked through the Hotel. So I have to call the Agency that made the arrangements, which meant finding Phone Number Guy again and asking him to find that number. Got it, too, after he said something about “Encino”? So I call the Agency and talk with this great Agency Guy, who said he’d call the Car Service Driver Guy for me and see what was up. Then he’d call me back. Which he did. Yes, there’s light at the end of the Adam tunnel after all.

Car Service Driver Guy called me, too, to tell me he’d be there in 2 minutes. And by golly, a few minutes later, he pulled up. Then it gets, well, even more interesting. Thank God for the thought of meeting Adam to distract me.

Car Service Driver Guy tells me that he’s got 2 more passengers to pick up and asks if that was alright. (It turned out they were 2 guys also there for the “Live Proud” Adam festivities so I was feeling cooperative.) He pulls into the parking garage and says (and I quote), “You’ll be OK, OK? I’m just going to find these guys.” He proceeds to walk away, leaving the car unlocked and running with me in it. In a dark, public parking garage. By myself. In a strange city. By-my-self.  Again, not happy.  I’m PRAYING to the Spirit of Adam to keep me safe! Thirty minutes or so later, during which I am apoplectic and in pain due to the aforementioned knee, he comes back. Without the two guys. Heaven only knows what their Adam story is!

All told it took me 3 hours to get from LAX to the W Hotel. It was worth it, though. I was safe and sound, thanks to the Spirit of yes, our Adam! (A little squee is OK here.)

IMG_0014So Juneau arrives after I’ve called my friend from college, Vee, who I haven’t seen in 37 years and who is in L.A. for the summer. She’s on her way right over. Juneau beats her getting to the room, though, where she and I have a wonderful, squeeful reunion, considering we’d only seen each other once ever (the day before she called me to tell me she’d won). Anyway, another thing we agreed upon was that we were both exhausted and starving. Ah, the arrival of Vee to the rescue. She took us out to eat and chat and laugh. Later, Juneau and I really laughed about 2 things that happened during and after the meal: (1) the disbelief/confusion on Vee’s face while Juneau was trying seriously to explain her obsession with Adam, me earnestly nodding appropriately with eyes wide, complete empathy and understanding as Juneau so eloquently spoke and (2) finding out that AT&T was covering ALL of our expenses and we could have stayed at the Hotel and ordered the $27 hamburger from room service!

Well, we got back to the Hotel ready for a long summer-night’s nap. After all, tomorrow is ADAM DAY and we must be adequately rested, refreshed, and most importantly, ready.

NEXT – ADAM DAY!!!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Northern Spirit permalink
    July 10, 2013 8:15 am

    Thea, this is great! Can’t wait to read the rest!

  2. pumpkit101 permalink
    July 10, 2013 9:02 am

    Thanks Thea! Don’t keep us hanging for too long!!!

  3. el Kat permalink
    July 10, 2013 9:17 am

    Reading, reading, reading and then “next” !!!??? Thea, how can you do this to us? You are a crafty Goddess for sure, making us wait for the denouement !
    Waiting with bated breath!

  4. sdshadam permalink
    July 10, 2013 11:19 am

    So excited & surprised for you that you got to be there! I loved reading this! I can’t wait for the next chapter. Laughing about the friends reaction. I can see an invisible question mark ? on top of people’s heads when I start talking about Adam! They do get confused.He’s our fountain of youth on this crazy wonderful train.

  5. Glamluvhns permalink
    July 10, 2013 11:59 am

    Thea, you can’t imagine how much happy jealousy there is for you. You have left me hanging on waiting for Adam Day! I hope the concert was magical for you and Juneau of course. I will be waiting as patiently as possible.😉

  6. M-E permalink
    July 10, 2013 12:58 pm

    Oh Thea, this is wonderful! Can’t wait to hear all about the actual Meeting! Forgive me for being so jealous – I am also very happy for you both and your excellent writing makes me feel like I was there after all! (well almost). Anxiously awaiting part II!

  7. July 10, 2013 3:26 pm

    When I had the party in Pittsburgh, I was excited for weeks leading up to it.

    I’ve never had the chance to meet and talk with Adam but I have my words chosen and rehearsed for whenever that day comes.

    I can’t wait to read the rest of your story. It’s got to be juicy since you are making us wait. 😉

  8. July 10, 2013 10:16 pm

    More!! Too bad they didn’t tell you about all expenses paid. That’t the way I read the contest rules, but without confirmation, how can you be sure? Thanks for all the juicy details!

  9. Evvy permalink
    July 11, 2013 11:12 pm

    Thea,
    You are such a good story teller. I read most excellent adventure of Juneau and yours too. I hope you feel better now. There will always be a next time to meet Adam and it will be as you planned and envisioned it to be. You are a beautiful person. I hope I would have that courage to meet Adam in the future..it is my dream. Please continue writing stories.

Leave a Reply

