Skip to content

Celebrating with Adam Lambert at Miami Beach Gay Pride!

April 25, 2013
by @woogis

by @woogis

By Ohio Glambert-Kickin In Kim (@motheranimal1)

As fate would have it, I had booked your family vacation in South Florida six months before it was announced that Adam Lambert would headline/close the week-long Miami Gay Pride celebration. So my heart sank when my Florida Glambert/Adam Lambert Soul Mate Fan Friend @RobinDutcher informed me that Adam would perform the same day and time that my flight was to depart!  I thought: “She wants to be up there in the air where the clouds live…KICKIN IN” with Adam Lambert at Miami Beach Gay Pride…

I went CUCKOO…my mind went RUNNIN’ in a desperate attempt to find a way to STAY in the Miami area another day! This would entail convincing my non-Glambert husband to travel home without me. He would, however, have the company of other family members including our daughter, son-in-law, our 8-month-old granddaughter and my 81-year-old dad!  It wasn’t easy to convince my husband that I simply could not bring myself to board a plane just as Adam was to take the main stage! I was met with closed body language and a bit of sarcasm: “OH NO! Leave without seeing Adam Lambert perform?” I secretly sang: WHATAYA WANT FROM ME?

Enter…my alter ego Nursebert! With sincere compassion, I explained to my husband that my friend Robin, whom I met through the Adam Lambert Fan Club, desperately wanted to attend this event. Unfortunately, she is experiencing health issues that require oxygen and a walker. I am knowledgeable in the use of these medical devices and have the reputation of being the Energizer BunnyBert so I HAD to help her! Without my help she wouldn’t be able to attend because her partner was home recovering from surgery! I mean…

“Someone HAD to do it!” #GoodSamaritanBert

I paid the fee to change my return flight and secured a hotel room for two more nights/ #WorthIt! After all…Miami Beach Gay Pride, parking with a handicap pass and Adam Lambert’s performance were all free! #Perfect #Justified! “Go on and pack up your thingses/the crazy train is ready to roll!” Ohio and Florida Glambert fan friends would enjoy some much needed “Adam Time”.

MiamiPride-NewspapersThe anticipation and thought of seeing Adam Lambert perform live once again sent us straight to NIRVAVA! There are no words to describe the excitement as we watched the Pride Parade on Ocean Drive in Miami South Beach. We later learned that Adam viewed the parade from the curb with festival goers just like the rest of us. Unfortunately, we didn’t see him in the crowd. I’m guessing his security team was keeping us well away from him!

After seeing the fabulously flamboyant pride parade complete with floats, live music, dancing, rainbow flags, balloons and banners, we made our way, walker and oxygen in tow, to the main stage. Here Adam would be presented with the Key to the City of Miami Beach! We stood a few feet from the stage. Our hearts raced and soared to Glambert Heaven when we saw Adam exit the huge bus and approach the steps to the stage…all smiles! He was given a praiseworthy and honorable introduction. He literally took our breath away with his warm, beautiful and friendly “hi fans” wave. #CrankUpOxygen #ShareOxygen #BounceBounceBounce It was truly a joy to see Adam Lambert receive the Key to the City of Miami Beach, an honor well deserved! POP THAT LOCK, Adam! He invited everyone to return to the main stage on the beach later that evening, promising a great party and celebration!

The hours passed quickly as there were blocks of food vendors, artists, open-air beachfront patio cafés, live music and entertainment on the beach and in the streets. I borrowed a wheelchair for Robin from Miami South Beach Headquarters. This wheelchair was designed to power through sand, and that it did! With her electric wheels Robin navigated the beach and streets…no problem!

“I don’t need no GPS to show me where to go!” She rocked in her wheelchair as I danced to the beat of steel drums! “Gonna party ‘til they take us away!”

Miami-PrideFlagProudly wearing Adam Lambert tee shirts, we met other Glamberts for the first time! We shared beautiful stories of “Adam Inspiration” with people who don’t “know” Adam as we do. I’m happy and proud to say there are now more Glamberts in the world! We made our way to the main stage hours before Adam was to perform. It was still close to 90 degrees and the sun was shining. We “parked” ourselves as close to the stage as possible. A free outdoor venue means no special arrangements for those with disabilities. We were in the third row of sardines! While waiting for Adam to take the stage the excited crowd chanted: “ADAM! ADAM! ADAM!”

I’m sure that you heard our screams around the world when Adam Lambert took the stage with his talented and sexy dancers, Terrance Spencer and Johnny Rice! They delivered an EPIC performance that will never he forgotten….NEVER! What a thrill to be close enough to see Adam’s beautiful, expressive eyes, the detail on his jewelry and every dance move! #NoWords. After his performance we were feeling so SHADY that we waited hoping that Adam would get out of the bus and visit with his fans as he often does. Unfortunately, the bus pulled away. “I’m not stayin’ at home…I got places to roll!”  We later learned Adam had to dash right off to China!

We love you, Adam!

Since Robin and I live across the country from each other, we had a wonderful belated birthday celebration in honor of Adam’s 31st birthday! How perfect to toast and celebrate Adam on the third level of an oceanfront patio restaurant near Miami Beach where Adam Lambert had just ignited the stage and audience! Our par-tay included a beautiful sky, warm tropical breezes, swaying palm trees, waves rolling onto the sandy beach and an Adam-inspired gift exchange and of course, cocktails! #Cheers

At the end of the long day, we needed to charge our phones as they had no battery life. #ChargeJustInCase We stopped at a lovely resort. Even though we were not registered guests, Robin’s walker and oxygen earned us a seat in the air conditioned lobby! Once our phones were charged it was close to midnight and time to get a bite to eat before we went to our hotel. Out came my iPad at the diner! #MustSeeAgain

MiamiPride-PoliceThanks to “Adam Energy” we were wide awake at 2:45 a.m. when we arrived at our hotel. As I attempted to open our hotel room door with the key, a man’s voice hollered “HOLD ON” three times! The door open and a man bolted out, leaving the door wide open! According to police (a good thing we charged phones and could call 911) the man had gained access to our hotel room by taking apart the jalousie windows and screens. The police officers said that it appeared he enjoyed a nice shower and took a nap in our room. By the time we made other sleeping arrangements it was 6:00 a.m.… NEVER CLOSE OUR EYES!

The police report charges: TRESPASSING

Coming next – Robin’s story!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. April 28, 2013 11:40 am

    Good morning, Kim. Thanks so much for responding to my post. I havn’t had time yet to read Robins, but be assured, I will! You guys must have had a beyond befief good time. And Kim I havn’t seen Adam since the Glamnation Tour, so know full well what it like to orbit for awhile I remember the first time for me. OMG! Maybe a tad jealous butlove hearing Glamberts that have had so much fun. Only wish I could have been there. Guess I’ll try getting the feeling through osmosis.. Are you, ladies, familiar with the “Eye of Horus”? Bet you are. I’m getting a small tat on my wrist.Adam makes me happy & know that I am still very much alive. Understand, ladies? You can say that Adam Lambert has released my “inner beast!. And, I’m lovin every minute of it! Just one more thing, Kim you are truly a verry, very good friend. We should all be so lucky.

  2. April 28, 2013 8:48 pm

    Jackie Norris Bradwell: I hope that you have read my story too. Of course, this is Robin. You asked about the Eye Of Horus. I wanted an American flag tattoo since 9-11, but was too chicken. Started following Adam, my first tattoo was the Eye of Horus and the Infinitity tattoo. I have since got my flag!!! I owe it all to Adam!!!!! And also–yes Kim is a VERY VERY good friend!!!! I am soooooo lucky!!!!

Leave a Reply

