Skip to content

“Promises of Starlight,” episode 44

March 30, 2013

Starlight orion nebula

Written by Thea Washington

None of the characters in “Promises of Starlight” represent any person living or dead.

The character “Rock Star”/”Angel” is based on Adam Lambert. The author does not in any way wish to disturb or predict Mr. Lambert’s life through the characters in this story.

All videos are to be enjoyed through their link to YouTube. They are not to be downloaded. No claims are made on the videos by the author.

Chapter 44 – THE NEXT STEP

              The house was quiet that night. Angel and Lover had invited Daughter and Hubby and the kids to move in with them. They’d accepted, under certain conditions. One was that the house be redone so that it had separate wings for each family.

              Daughter asked her parents to restrict their “little bunny wabbit” ways to their wing of the house, at least until the twins and their younger siblings were a bit older. They didn’t have to hide their true selves, it was just that she and Hubby wanted to be the ones to tell their younger children about their maternal grandfathers (as if the kids hadn’t already figured it out).

              The couple was getting older, in their mid- and late-eighties now. Angel was in pretty good shape considering the life he’d led. He’d had a bout of heart disease and was recovering from some pneumonia but was optimistic that he’d come through just fine. Lover had been through some things, too, but all in all he was doing well for his age. Those martial arts classes when he was a younger man were paying off.

              As per usual, Angel was wrapped around his Treasure while they slept. A light appeared in the room, waking Angel. He watched happily as, for the first time for him, Starlight manifested. She had a sadly mysterious look on her face. Within moments he knew why she was there.

              “It’s time, isn’t it?” he whispered.

              She nodded and whispered back, “Yes.”

              Angel didn’t know what to say. “I didn’t think it would be so soon.”

              “I know, my darling boy. But everyone’s time comes. You’ve led a good life. I am so proud of you.”

              “You came to help me, didn’t you?”

              “Yes,” said Starlight, nodding.

              “But I wasn’t there to help you.”

              “That was alright. Remember? I didn’t want you there. I wanted you happy and onstage doing what you love, what you do best. Besides, you were still human. You couldn’t have helped me transition, anyway.”

              Angel nodded. “I still wanted to be there. That’s one of the lessons you taught me.”

              “I know, my Angel. I heard you, that night at the concert, when you canceled and came home to your family because they needed you.”

              “I wondered if you were there. It felt like you were. I saw the starlight.”

              “Yes, I was there. In your moments like that I was always there. Sometimes I had to let you find your own way but I was always there.”

              Angel felt his soul tugging to leave his body, his vessel. Starlight watched as he felt this new sensation.

              “This is how it feels. Fear not. Your spirit is eternal. This is merely a return to where you were before you began.”

              Angel watched as Lover slept. He could see himself there on the bed, his arm around Lover, their hands clasped.

              “I don’t want him to find me like that.”

              “He won’t, my Angel. It will be daylight soon. He’ll get up as usual. You were never awake anyway when he came back. And your vessel will still be warm to the touch. He will grieve. He will mourn. You must remember, however, that for you there is no time. In a moment he’ll be by your side again.”

              “May I say something, something he’ll remember?”

              “He’ll know, but he won’t remember, not the way you mean it. But yes, he will know.”

              Angel leaned down to gently kiss the cheek of the man who’d owned his heart for most of his life. Silently, he whispered, “I always did and I always will love you.”

              Lover stirred in his sleep. “Angel?” he whispered aloud.  “Always and always.”

              Angel floated to where Starlight was waiting for him. “I brought someone else to help you.” Angel watched in awe as Dante manifested at his feet. He was glad to see him. Angel was the only man Dante had ever liked.

              All conversation now flowed in silence. “Dante! How are you, boy?” Angel leaned down and ruffled the Rottweiler’s ethereal fur. Dante immediately floated on his back for a belly rub.

              “We must go,” said Starlight. “Daylight comes.”

              With one last look at Lover sleeping peacefully, Angel turned away, following Starlight and Dante into Forever.

              Lover slid from beneath Angel’s arm and made his way to the bathroom as he did every morning. When he returned, he knew something was different. It was in how Angel’s arm was. Usually, when Lover got up, Angel rolled over onto his back. But now he was still in the position Lover had left him.

              He knew.

              “Oh, no,” he whimpered. He went to the window, looking for, he didn’t know what. He went back to the bed, gently cradling Angel as he rocked and cried.

              “You said you would never leave me. I believed you then and I believe you now. I know you haven’t. You’re still with me. I always did and always will … love you. Always and always, my Angel. I am your Treasure, yours and yours alone.”

              He leaned down and kissed the still-warm, still-beautiful face of his Forever Love.

              “Goodnight, my Angel,” he said, gently stroking, then kissing his cheek again. Just like their first night together, he reached to whisper in Angel’s ear. This time the words were different but the meaning the same.

              “Wait for me.”

Video 20″: “Stay”                                           Credit:  thebelltollsformeliz

Tomorrow in “Promises of Starlight”: The end … and a new beginning

“Promises of Starlight” – Table of Contents

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

