Skip to content

Another Reason Why Adam Makes Us Crazy…

August 6, 2012

By Thea

(“Funny, Weird and Thought-Provoking”)

Parting the waters…

So the question has yet to be answered in full. What it is about Adam that makes us all crazy about him? I’ve come up with yet another “what it is.” It’s kind of esoteric…but hang in there with me.

I think it has something to do with his use of space.  And no, I don’t mean like some alien or anything … although I haven’t counted that out. It’s about how he uses the space around him, space as in air. And how the space around him becomes his to do with as he chooses.

What does that mean, you might wonder? I’m not sure myself; it’s just that the thought popped into my head this morning and I thought it was kind of interesting.

I started thinking about how Adam used the space around him when he was on AI. Remember how he used all the stage, even when he wasn’t in it? That’s what I mean. Some AI performances really show this, like “Tracks of My Tears” and “Ring of Fire.” There he is, almost motionless, but he still had control of the entire space. And walking down those stairs when he sang “Feelin’ Good”? Tell me it didn’t remind you of the parting of the Red Sea, opening up for him and then closing again after he’d passed by. OK, maybe it didn’t. But as I ruminated upon it this morning, I thought so.

Then think about “Black or White.” He’s all over the place and, again, commanding the entire space of the stage, it vibrating (come back, ladies) as he moved with the beat of the music. He moved the air around him as if it had no choice but to let him move through it as he pleased. Like it was there at first and then here comes Adam taking over the space where it used to be.

(I do think that’s interesting, air moving out of our way instead of moving through us, like it might. I haven’t figured that one out yet. Plus there’s that third possibility.)

Neither was the air during his performance on the AMAs exempt from this phenomenon. Think about how electrifying it was, as if charged with Adam’s own neurons, the spiked hair and those slinky moves, even the fall-and-roll supporting him back onto his feet. That kind of air-strength is rarely if ever seen. And considering that air is transparent and can’t be seen, well, hence my point.

Let’s move on to the Glam Nation Tour. No. Let’s go to Fantasy Springs #1 first. I seem to remember that swinging thing we often see behind him (“behind” being the operative word here). Even that’s an example of his force. He moves and the air moves with him. Now, how many people do you know who can do that, make the air around them move?  Sometimes I think Adam could make the wind blow (ladies, please) if he wanted it to. Maybe. One never really knows about such things.

Stairway to Heaven…

Now we get to GNT. Does anyone besides me remember that performance of “Whole Lotta Love” in Milwaukee? It was the first time we saw him lay back on the steps. I kept imagining a huge mirror of air over him, floating and tilted in a way that we could see the image of him but not him. (I warned you this was esoteric, which I looked up in my thesaurus and it said, “mysterious” and “obscure.” Sounds about right.)

OK, back to the rest of GNT. That first scene, of him as the Mystical Voodoo Warlock, felt to me like he’d stepped out of a cloud of ether and into the physical world, as if he’d come through a space in the darkness shaped like him to temporarily be with us mere mortals to be controlled at his command. Now, Adam doesn’t think of us that way but that Warlock sure did. For me that feeling continued throughout the entire concert. The air seemed to fold itself around him so that, rather than him moving through it, it was enveloping itself around him. Spooky.

Think I’m weird? “Sleepwalker.” Hell, even his jumping up and down to “If I Had You” made the air jump up and down with him. Which I think has something to do with how he does it in the first place. Exercise and nutrition may have something to do with it but I’m going with the air/space theory.

I won’t even try to describe the air/space around Adam, Brian and Roger during Queenbert. I’m not that crazy. But I must say that the affection the three of them feel for each other is almost palpable. Y’all know what I’m talking about. You can almost touch it. Think about THAT for a while. Air usually touches us—but not where Adam is. He touches it. Very spooky.

So that brings us to the “Trespassing” CD and what we’ve seen of it to date. Now, that dynamic between Adam and air and space seems to have strengthened. Maybe it’s that “in love” thing. I don’t know what it is but, when I watch him in an interview or in performance now, air appears to be carving out a space for him that is much stronger than it was before, almost a natural 3-D on a flat screen. It seems to have added some sort of energy to itself. And now he’s carrying it with him into the audience! And he loves it! I think that would drive me crazy but air and space appear to go right along with him, maintaining themselves for him. As much as he wants them to, anyway.

You know, this whole thing brings up that other thought. What if the air IS moving through us? Something else to ruminate upon. But not right now.

You might be thinking that I must be on some kind of substance. Fortunately I’m not. My friends tell me I don’t need to be if I think up things like this out of the blue. Which, as you know, is why I named my brain, “My Brain She Entertains Me.” Because she does.

22 Comments leave one →
  1. Cisty Everywhere permalink
    August 7, 2012 11:12 am

    I think Adam connects with us at a subcouscious level, that’s why we can’t tottally nail it and keep finding explanations. All of them valid, by the way. We just feel this emotion changing us from within, this force that surges when he appears on stage (or screen).
    Adam being so in tune with his primal instincts and being so expressive is like releasing atomic energy through our psyche. He can Trespass our best defense mechanisms without us knowing how willingly we allowed him to do it.
    Another great article, another explanation.

  2. Sydney permalink
    August 7, 2012 11:34 am

    I like the way he fills the space in his jeans.

  3. August 7, 2012 1:56 pm

    First of all, we know you’re crazy Thea, so just go with it. You’re doing it beautifully. I guess when you are in love with someone, they seem to exist beyond the laws of physics and nature. That just about sums it up for me.

    • gracian51 permalink
      August 7, 2012 11:01 pm

      And I thought I was doing such a great job hiding it! 😉

  4. rosemary permalink
    August 8, 2012 12:19 am

    And your brain entertained me, too, Thea! Thanks. I’m reminded of that recent thing that Brian May said (wish I had the exact quote) about how Adam knew how to use the space on the stage as Freddy knew how to do — that he was connected to the space, wasn’t afraid to move around it, and that that allowed him (Brian), all of them to move and connect more which helped create some of that intimacy we saw and that Xena talked about so wonderfully in her article. Adam plays with space, re-imagines it (as he does his songs and himself) and that’s part of his magic.

  5. annehedonia permalink
    August 8, 2012 6:52 pm

    Adam seems to bring forth the esoteric theories! I enjoyed reading your thoughts and theories, Thea. I’ve never considered the Adam phenomenon in this exact way – but that’s what makes it fascinating – the differing ways in which we try to explain what will probably remain forever inexplicable. From the beginning, I’ve cogitated and mused about all this… never really got it together enough to attempt any sort of cogent thesis. But it does seem sometimes as if Adam’s here to do something specific and important, though I’d never put that on him. I think for me it has something to do with the energies of sexuality and creativity… and how those things reach through the ethers to inspire us. Thank you for this article.

  6. August 10, 2012 1:40 am

    Your comments were interesting, Thea. Adam certainly does command the stage and time and space when he appears. On tour, dancers could be swirling around him but all eyes were on Adam. Even though he’s a handsome, graceful creature to watch, there is an inexplicable quality to his presence as though he is generating his own force field.

Leave a Reply

