Skip to content

Failing Grade – Focus on the Family’s Review

May 25, 2012

Commentary by Juneau

Focus on the Family – Adam Lambert “Trespassing”

The conservative Christian organization reviews new music. Who knew? They do this as a public service to steer families towards appropriately wholesome material. How did “Trespassing” fare? They gave Adam’s album a mixed grade, lauding the two singles “Never Close Our Eyes” and “Better Than I Know Myself” for their elevated themes (they gave a nod to “Underneath” as well), but condemning the rest. “Like Gaga,” the reviewer warns darkly, “Lambert is unapologetically shameless when it comes to singing about his voracious sexual appetites.” Worse, “Several songs hint at his willingness to engage in a risky sexual encounter with someone he’s just met.” Did we just hear the thunderous noise of millions of pearls hitting the floor?

Perhaps we shouldn’t be surprised that a fundamentalist Christian would interpret song lyrics so literally. In “Naked Love”, the reviewer explains that “The singer also drunkenly demands that a prospective lover expose himself.” And here we were enjoying Adam’s clever use of sexy metaphors to ask a potential lover to put his guard down and truly connect. Boy do we feel stupid. But all snark aside, FoF’s review would be hilarious if it weren’t somehow sad that anyone would view the rich, messy complexity of life through such a one-dimensional literalist filter. If this were high school English class, we’d have to give this review an “F”.

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

Other reactions

The Home Planet – Protect the Children “Focus on the Family did a music review of Adam’s Trespassing and *gasp* he references sex, getting drunk, being “shady” and possible bondage…Well Adam, what do you have to say for yourself? I mean, what 30 year old man thinks only of sex & getting drunk? UNHEARD OF!”

11 Comments leave one →
  1. May 25, 2012 9:06 am

    WATT A JOKE. GIVE US A BREAK WE DON’T WANT TO KNOW WATT YOU THINK.

  2. May 25, 2012 9:10 am

    Well, on the positive side, they did like some of his songs. Right?

  3. May 25, 2012 9:27 am

    maybe after this i should be more cautious of letting my 12yr old son listen to trespassing as he feels and I quote “Mr. Lambert is totally cool mom he said I never have to go to bed and I can run around naked he is awesome” oh well I rather he listen to Adam and be a bad mom then to keep him from good music

  4. annehedonia permalink
    May 25, 2012 11:46 am

    It would seem to follow that folks who take the Bible literally would also take song lyrics literally. (…and I DO mean literally, not figuratively!) And that’s all I’m going to say about that!
    Go look at this ~ You’ll laugh, promise…

  5. May 25, 2012 3:41 pm

    Unfortunately there will always be hypocrits, bigots and people who just hate other people because they’re different. Personally, I love the album and all the songs on it. Open your minds FoF, and not take everything so literally. Have a little “kick it” time.

  6. glamity58 permalink
    May 25, 2012 6:21 pm

    Few things scare me more than religious zealots and organizations like this. Actually this review could have been worse. They could threatened him with certain hell or accused him of being possessed.

    These groups profess love and compassion but often judge people or condemn them. They must know more about sex than I do, because I never garnered all this sexual matter from his songs. Some of the songs, it is obvious, but overall, I don’t find his songs sexually explicit. I sing in the church choir and consider myself fairly religious, but I’m also open minded and don’t judge people. Love everyone.

  7. Wendy Jackson permalink
    May 26, 2012 1:08 am

    WOW aren’t christians great. I was raised Catholic me, my mother ALL catholic. My Dad was baptist but agreed to “raise the children” catholic. Well my altar boy brother who I loved very much had a baby girl. So cute. She is now married to a woman. I knew from the depths of my soul from the time I was 12 she was gay. My brother was never OK with the “gay thing” as my niece calls it. Why would I care what her sexual orientation is. Adam Lambert is a very nice person. Never says a bad thing about anybody. Why does the world have to judge and hate and turn beautiful lyrics into smut.

  8. juko6649 permalink
    May 31, 2012 5:08 pm

    What album were THEY listening to??
    Just proves you can twist things to fit your mindset if your mind is closed enough
    I am a God lover AND a devoted Glambert. I see no conflict. If you seek goodness, you find it. I guess the same goes for ugliness.

    • glamity58 permalink
      May 31, 2012 10:05 pm

      You are so right juko6649. God-fearing people like this scare me. They’ve missed the boat and are very judgmental.

    • June 1, 2012 3:10 pm

      Kaching! – j

Leave a Reply

