Skip to content

Another View of “NCOE” – Something for Everyone by Thea Washington

April 17, 2012

          OK, by now the media about Adam’s new CD is in full frenzy and our glambert flail is, too. It’s going to be a great CD, isn’t it? Adam’s voice is sublime no matter what he’s singing.             

          The current single, “Never Close Our Eyes,” takes me right back to the “Poison Apple,” the first disco in my college town in the mid-70’s.  Jumping up and down, hair and feet flying all over the place, drinks (and whatever) waiting at the table, dancing with all our friends at once. Yeah, those were some serious clubbing days! And then moving here, with even more clubs to choose from and lots more friends to group-dance with. (The drinks—and whatever–were better, too.) This song reminds me of Donna Summer singing, “love to hear percussion.” 

              But remember when the first snippets came out? I didn’t always like this song. The snippet never got me, maybe because I couldn’t hear enough of it. It sounded too fast. And when Adam performed the acoustic version of it? It sounded too slow. Yes, I know, Goldilocks comes to mind. Anyway, “Never Close Our Eyes” wasn’t real high on my list of favs. I wasn’t the only one, either (come on, be honest). And lots of people confused Adam’s voice with Bruno’s. But he kept saying, “Wait ‘til you hear the finished one!” So we waited, not happily I might add. But we did. And was he right!

              I think a part of NCOE’s appeal to me is that it’s got something for everyone. The kids are going to dance their booties off, singing along, hair and feet flying, etc. etc. The middle-aged fans are going to be bobbing their heads, tapping their feet and embarrassing their teenagers doing all the dances from the “old” days. And those of us who really are “seasoned” will just be bobbing our heads, tapping our feet and singing off-key. But that’s OK.

              Plus, NCOE moves like a body dances. As much as I love “BTIKM” I always thought it was more of a head song than a body song. I was always emailing, “But it’s hard to dance to unless you know how to do the ‘bop’.” That’s a kind of slow/fast cha-cha. No one knew what the hell I was talking about.

              You know what else I like about this song? It speaks to me as an older woman who’s beginning to have a whole lot to look back on and not quite as much to—now how do I say this without sounding maudlin?—see ahead. My trainer told me before I started going to the weight room a couple of weeks ago that, if I really start to exercise and watch what I eat, he thought I’d have around ten more relatively-healthy years. And I want EVERY ONE. I saw somebody’s comment the other day that NCOE reminds them of “Don’t Wanna Miss a Thing.” And I saw somebody else say that the human voice doesn’t mature until you’re 36. I don’t wanna miss Adam and his voice when he’s 36.

              And there’s one lyric that I think really speaks to being young at heart, that line about “no consequence.” Sweetie, it’s a great line but that’s not how real life works. I read in “The “Washington Post” a few days ago that had something that describes it: “Connecting actions to consequences is rarely a bad place to start.” It’s just how it is. It’s what keeps us all connected. Sometimes there are consequences we never even see, they’re so far away. But they’re always there.

              So for me, “Never Close Our Eyes” is a “dream” song, which is ironic considering its message about not sleeping. There are lots of wishes in there. Would that they all come true! Which is exactly why I’m going to come home and listen to it a few more dozen times after I get back from the weight room. I might even bob my head, tap my feet and sing off-key. And if I still have some energy left over and my knees don’t creak, maybe dance a little, too.          

6 Comments leave one →
  1. becca112971 permalink
    April 17, 2012 6:48 pm

    xoxo

    • gracian51 permalink
      April 17, 2012 11:34 pm

      xoxo back atcha, becca – Thanx!

  2. wismiss3 permalink
    April 17, 2012 11:15 pm

    Thea, I’ve been waiting for the cd to hear all of his songs. When I first heard snippets of the Bruno Mars song I really didn’t like it. Now you’ve convinced me to listen to the full version. I have this thing about hearing bits and pieces, also. I envision myself and my husband sitting in our “easy chairs” (we’ve been married fifty years) and listening to Adam’s new Trespassing cd. I listen to his old songs going and coming from work and even at work. There’s never a day that goes by when I don’t check the blogs for news of our beautiful man. My husband is very encouraging and understanding about my flailing and my every day reporting of Adam’s goings and comings. As far as getting older, I just won’t hear of it. Too much to do….have to prepare for Adam’s tour (when that comes to our area). Saw him in Milwaukee two years ago with my family. And I didn’t feel old with black nail polish and glitter on my eyes. Also, I have to make room on my refrigerator for some new photos. I like the one where he “walks on water” and the jet ski photo and his frayed jacket dealy, etc. Oh yes, I have a lot to do in the days ahead. Loved this article. Nice going! I am Sandy

    • gracian51 permalink
      April 17, 2012 11:32 pm

      Thanks, Sandy! I thought it was time we who are “seasoned” got our say about Adam. He knows we’re here and loves it that we are. We love it, too! BTW, my nail polish is “Aruba Blue,” sort of a bright navy. Isn’t it fun being a glambert?!

  3. April 18, 2012 4:33 pm

    Great article Gracian! But the song you rocked to “love to hear percussion” was “Turn the Beat Around” by Gloria Estefan. I have always loved that music as well!
    And the comment about the voice at age 36 was made by opera singer/teacher, Angelina Kalahari from the UK. She is also a huge fan of Adam’s and has said that in the opera world, the male tenor voice doesn’t fully “mature” until around age 36…so that we can all look forward to even richer, more deep chocolate tones! The mere thought sends shivers down my spine! SQUEEEEEEE! (“Shady” is totally my new jam!)

  4. gracian51 permalink
    April 18, 2012 5:23 pm

    I’d forgotten about Gloria Estefan! I remembered the lyric but not the name of the song. And yeah, I just think Adam’s going to get better and better! Funny, I usually don’t do this but I’ve been thinking about the new CD all day. Haven’t decided my most fav yet–am leaning toward either “Naked Love” (good dance beat for me) and of course “Underneath.” He says it a “beast” to sing, though, so we may not hear that in concert. BOO HOO! Other than that let the flailing go on!!!

Leave a Reply

