Skip to content

Children of Starlight, part 3 episode 1 of “The Starlight Trilogy” by Thea Washington

March 28, 2012

The characters in this story are fictional and not intended to depict any individual

The character “the Rock Star” is based on Adam Lambert

The videos in Part 3 feature Adam Lambert, Queen, Depeche Mode and Savage Garden

Table of Contents

 

 

Chapter 1 – WAITING

 

Lover anxiously looks around the courtroom. He doesn’t feel her presence, nor is there a yellow rose in sight.  

“Where is she?” he asks nervously, the shaking in his soul obvious to “the Rock Star” (in public), his “Angel” (in private). 

“Don’t worry,” he answers, calmly. “If we needed her, she’d be here. You know that.” 

Lover admits his husband has a point. It helps, but not much. 

“But don’t you think she’d want to be here for this?” 

The Rock Star turns towards him, that amused look on his still stunningly- beautiful face. 

“Howdaya know she’s not?” 

Again, Lover has to admit his husband has a point. It helps, but not much. 

“Calm down, baby. It’s gonna be OK, I promise. They’re coming back home with us, where they belong.” 

Lover shares the look and the smile with the Rock Star. “Yeah, you’re right. She’d be here if we really needed her.” The smile grows broader. “They really are coming home, aren’t they? I cannot wait.”

“Yeah, they’re coming home. And she’s probably off somewhere planning the ‘Welcome Home’ party. With lots of glitter.” 

At that very moment glitter appears in his hair, strategically placed to highlight the gray.

“You’d better watch what you say,” Lover smirks, admiring the effect. He leans closer in. “You know she can hear you.”

 

It had been the longest, worst year of their life. And they’d had some pretty bad years but, somehow, they’d made it through. And today was the day they’d finally all be together again.

Just like Starlight had promised Lover’s soul that night so long ago. 

  

The Rock Star could feel Lover’s turmoil. They always could read each other, so easily. Usually it was Lover who calmed the Rock Star but today the roles were reversed. “And that’s OK,” he thought to himself. “I’d do anything for Lover. He’s sure done everything for me.” 

The Rock Star began thinking about their life together, all the way back to that first day they’d seen each other in Lover’s office. So many days and nights spent lusciously loving, being loved by and learning from Lover, so much and in so many ways. He sat there letting the memories decide among themselves. Indeed, one surfaced. It was that first time he’d been back in Lover’s condo after … well, after he’d thrown the chair. He’d been so afraid but he remembered how Lover, always planning something, had deliberately distracted him to put him at ease so they could get back to being “us.” So they could be a couple again.  

And, suddenly, the Rock Star knew exactly what to do.

 

“You know, I’ve been thinking. We sure have had a time. Since that very first day I walked in your office. Who’da thought we’d end up here? All these years. Me running away all the time. People trying to break us up. Hm,” he paused, remembering. “After all that, you’re still crazy in love with me.” 

Lover looked at the Rock Star like he’d lost his mind (the Rock Star, not him).

“Yeah, well, you’re lucky I do. Otherwise you’d probably be homeless by now.” 

“Yeah, you’re right,” the Rock Star chuckled. “That means you’d be homeless, too, though, ‘cause I ain’t going nowhere without you.” The smile played around the edges of his mouth. Lover loved it when that happened. 

“Yeah, you’re right,” he said. “Besides, at this point nobody else wants us.” 

They both sat there, staring ahead, thinking about that “Hm,” said the Rock Star. “Then it’s a good thing we had kids.” 

“Yeah,” said Lover. “Besides you, babe, it’s the best thing.”

 Best Thing – Savage Garden 

  

Chapter 2 – REFLECTIONS  

“You remember when I proposed?”

Lover let himself go back to that moment in the car, after the “Gratitude” concert in the amphitheater near the Mountain House. “Yes,” he slowly answered, savoring the memory. “That was one of the happiest moments of my life.”

The Rock Star nodded, a thoughtful look on his face. “That was one of the best decisions I ever made. And you actually said ‘yes’.

“‘Whatever you want’. What else could I say? I remember that. In our hearts we’d been married forever by then, anyway. The only thing missing was throwing the party.”

“The party?” The Rock Star arranged his gorgeous face into an approximation of disgust. “All you remember is the party?  What about the vows and the ceremony and stuff? You don’t remember that?”

It was Lover’s turn to chuckle.

“Oh, yeah, that’s right. Something about loving you beyond Forever? I sorta remember something about that. I think Starlight inspired that part.”

“Yeah, well, whoever inspired it, you better remember.”

Lover slowly nodded. “Always and always, babe,” he whispered, reaching for the Rock Star’s hand.

“Um hmm.  And you do remember what that means, right?” This time the Rock Star’s look of apprehension was real.

“Yeah, babe, I remember.” Lover gazed at his wedding ring, turning toward the man of his dreams, his heart,  of his soul. “I always have loved and always will love you.”

The Rock Star gave his heart eyes to his husband, his eyes filled with the love they shared. All kinds of the love they shared.

“Stop it!” whispered Lover.

“Stop what?,” asked the Rock Star, innocently.

“Stop looking at me.”

“But I like looking at you. That’s one of the reasons I married you.” (Smirk)

“We’re in a courtroom waiting to get our kids back and you’re looking at me.”

“What is the problem?”      

“The problem is, I know what you’re thinking when you look at me like that.”

The Rock Star did the “smile with the hint of smirk” thing. “I’m a rock star,” he smiled. “I’m supposed to be out of control.” He paused. “Besides, ‘some happy’s’ another reason I married you.”

Lover smiled at his handsome husband. “You know, sometimes I wonder if maybe I should have proposed to you. Now what would you have thought about that?”

“Hmm, that is a thought. I woulda said ‘yes’. I would have been surprised as hell but I definitely would have said, ‘yes’.”

The Rock Star could feel his plan was working. Lover wasn’t worrying about the custody case or even where Starlight was anymore. He could see the look that told him Lover was now worried about him. But that was OK. They both liked that.

“You know what I really remember? I remember what a pain you were when we were planning the wedding,”

“A pain?” asked the Rock Star. “I wasn’t being a pain. I just figured you’re so much better at organizing stuff I’d leave you alone. If I’d gotten too involved it woulda been AFU anyway.”

 Again Lover had to admit, he had a point.

 

“Sheepish” is the only word that describes that look, thought Starlight. Lover was right. She could hear every word Angel said, sometimes even the ones he was just thinking about saying. Sometimes she stayed away, though. After all, her boys needed their “private time,” each one their “alone” time and, when they were all together, their “family time.” Nowadays, now that she really knew they’d be alright, she only visited when asked. Or when they really needed her. There were still a few bumps ahead.

Other than that, she was too busy visiting other Ethereals she’d become and being the nebulas, stars, comets and meteors she liked the most. The Orion would always be her favorite but the Peony Nebula was becoming a close second, at the moment anyway. Plus, she still loved dancing on Saturn’s rings. And occasionally, when she really had something to celebrate, she’d be the sunrise. To tell the truth, though, she preferred being sunsets. They fit her better.

Regardless, Starlight would still happily retaliate on anybody who got in the way of her boys or their loved ones. She’d proven that more than once. In her earthly days she might have said, “I fuck back.”

Some things never change, even beyond Forever.

 

The conversation in the courtroom continued, the whispers becoming both more intense and even quieter than before.

“You were doing me a favor by letting me handle almost everything? Shhuh. You actually expect me to believe that?”

“Uh huh. Well, actually, I just thought it was worth a try. You gotta admit, though, I did have some good ideas.”

“Well, I don’t know if I’d call them ‘good’ or not. They were ‘ideas’. That’s all I’m willing to say.”

“Can I help it if you have no sense of adventure?”

“Oh, wait a minute. No sense of adventure? I’m an internationally respected entrepreneur and I marry a rock star and you tell me I have no sense of adventure?” Lover shook his head in absolute disbelief. “Besides,” he continued, “I’m a billionaire and you’re just a multi-millionaire. I always knew you married me for my money.” He added, “And my jet plane which, no, you cannot drive.”

The Rock Star knew he had to redirect this conversation—and fast. This was territory they’d covered before. He still didn’t understand why he couldn’t drive the plane, though. Lover said it had something to do with a license. He had a driver’s license so why couldn’t he drive the jet? Lover’d told him it was about “running into thingses.” “Cognitive dissonance” he thought they called it. “Silliness” fit, too.

“OK, tell me one idea I had that, well, wasn’t so good.”

“You don’t really want me to go there, do you? Because once I start …” Lover was enjoying the “reminiscing.” And the silliness.

“Hey, I’m a rock star. I’m not skerred.”

“Alright. Let’s see.” Lover thought for a minute. “Oh, I remember one, that one about Turkey.”

“Turkey? But that’s traditional. You can’t have Thanksgiving without turkey.”

It was Lover’s turn to look (almost) authentically disgusted. “You know very well I am not talking about Thanksgiving,” he whispered, so insistently that even their friends sitting behind them laughed. Not that they hadn’t been listening all along, enjoying the banter between the two men so obviously in love with each other. They, too, had no doubt that the court’s decision would be to return the children to their home.

“Oh,” said the Rock Star, sheepish again. “You mean that idea about the fairy chimneys. I thought that was one of my best.” He knew it really wasn’t.

Lover turned and looked directly at him.

“You not only wanted to go to Turkey for our honeymoon,” he said, emphasizing each word. “You wanted to go specifically to see the fairy chimneys.” The huge, phallic-shaped structures, one of which was over ten stories high, were marvels of nature. They had once been used by the early Christians for very spiritual, and later practical, non-erotic reasons. He continued, “And if that wasn’t bad enough, you wanted to steal one and bring it home so we could do pagan dances around it in the nude!”

The Rock Star deliberately looked perplexed.

“You’re saying you thought that was a bad idea?”

Lover turned again, a look of amazement on his face.

“And how did you expect us to steal a Turkish national treasure, bring it home wrapped in plain brown paper in pieces on the jet, get it and us through Customs and nobody notice it was gone OR that it was sitting in the middle of our Great Room?”

“OK, so maybe I didn’t think it through that far. But, look, if you’re gonna have a Great Room, it should have something great in it, don’t you think?” he said, not sure himself what he meant by that.

Lover, as usual a step ahead of him, answered with a smile on his face. He gestured for the Rock Star to lean towards him.

“It’s already had something great in it,” he whispered in the Rock Star’s ear. “Remember the ‘Quiet Storm’ our first night?”

 

 Tomorrow in “Children” – Engayment

One Comment leave one →
  1. Glamnluvhns permalink
    February 23, 2013 9:30 am

    I can’t seem to the “Starlight” episodes down. Sort of like the Twilight Saga. Are there any episodes or parts previous to “C of S Part3” ?That’s as furthest to the beginning that I can get to. Plz let me kno. I’d love to read all of “Starlight Episodes”.

Leave a Reply

