Skip to content

Next single – Let it be “Trespassing”

March 26, 2012

Design by @LeeCherry. Creative Director @AdamLambert

By Juneau

We do stan the best global superstar ever! On March 21, mindful of fans’ disappointment over the delayed release of his second album, Adam gave us four excerpts to savor and help us survive the next two months. He even asked fans to weigh in on which song should be his next single. At a fan Q&A he mentioned that “Cuckoo” was the likely choice.

Upon hearing this, the voice in my head cried out “No!!” Now, all four songs are radio-friendly potential hits, each a sonic incendiary device to set the dance floor ablaze. But I would love the next single to be more than a hit. I would love to see it propel the entire album and proclaim to the world that Adam F*cking Lambert HAS ARRIVED. I feel the song could be the album’s mission statement. That’s why I fervently hope the single will be “Trespassing”.

I lay before you my reasons. Musically, “Trespassing” truly stands out from the pack in a way the other three songs do not. With it’s earth-shaking funk foundations, the song channels the “black woman living inside” in a way that connects across the demographics of Adam’s unique fanbase. When he hits those Michael Jacksonesque notes, Adam delivers the primal vocal thrills that made us all fall so hard for him in the first place. Most importantly, the song packs attitude and a loud and clear message that Adam is a boundary-breaking artist. It’s retro and radical at the same time. “Trespassing” adds layers of complexity and seriousness beyond the other candidate singles.

The “Better Than I Know Myself” video established the dark versus light conceptual framework of the album, providing the perfect set up for Adam’s next single by literally laying down a boundary line.  “Trespassing” is the song to smash through it.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. dorihb permalink
    March 27, 2012 8:41 am

    I agree – I would love to see Trespassing as the next single. I did my own mini market research: my moody, sulky 14 y.o. niece (tough customer! haha!), and her two brothers (abt. 10 & 12). As we were just sitting in the LR, without saying anything to her, I played, ostensibly for myself, Trespassing (from the Atlanta show) on my phone. She perked up and asked me what it was. I showed her my phone: “Oh, Adam”. But she did say she liked it – without any eye-rolls. Then I showed it to the 2 boys, who incidentally take guitar and drums and are into music going back to the 60’s as well as current; they both liked it too. Doesn’t mean they wouldn’t also like anything else, it’s just what I had on me at the time. And my favorite.
    Also, everyone is raving about the acoustic NCOE and thinks it might be a good single. I LOVE that version (the snippet didn’t do a lot for me), unfortunately, the Bing Lounge version is not the version that would be released. I have to say, I’m not a fan of the production on a lot of these – once again. I think you addressed that in an earlier blog. I still think it homogenizes Adam too much. Adam has to distinguish himself more from other singers, the production tends to mask his Adam-ness. Trespassing is the exception, of the ones we’ve heard, I think. And for that reason – that it’s NOT like everything else out there – it should be the next single.

  2. CherelleDay permalink
    March 27, 2012 10:20 am

    I Completely agree!

  3. March 27, 2012 11:24 am

    One thing I didn’t mention in my piece is the role of music reviewers in helping to establish an artist. While in the age of file sharing, the influence of music journalists/critics is waning, they still can help anoint a new artist. I had this in mind too in casting my vote for “Trespassing”. I think the song will command respect from the media for its edge and boldness. The other songs, maybe less so. – J

  4. el Kat permalink
    March 29, 2012 12:23 pm

    I’m with you on this Juneau. And the Nile Rogers part may help with the radio “buzz”, it was a coup to land him. Love this song ! But is it possible that the company wants to give a little tease before the BIG hit ? I am hoping this album will be Adam’s “21”- a multiple hit album and her strongest hit ” My one and only” ( in my opinion) was one of the last singles.

    I also really love Cuckoo and think it has the perfect hooks to stay in peoples minds. One thing no one has mentioned – will there be a “radio friendly” version ( like Ce Lo’s “Forget You) to substitute “give a f*%k” ? Will this keep it off the air in certain markets ? Let alone “Cocked and ready to go “( MY personal favorite lyric)

    Except for the absolutely beautiful vocal Bing performance, I think NCOE is the weakest of the four because of the totally lame lyrics.

    This choice will be very interesting ….

  5. Dorothy permalink
    August 16, 2012 7:31 am

    I know Adam called it his mission statement but I hate this term – so corporate and ripe for disdain and laughs. Can’t we call it what is – Adam’s “song of myself” – rising out of a spirit both wild and lovely?

Leave a Reply

