Skip to content

No Meets, No Greets – The Curse of Xena

March 15, 2012

Some readers might wonder about “The Curse of Xena” so I am re-posting what I wrote on the Fan Club site sometime after the GNT ended.  Over almost three years and twelve or maybe thirteen events where I was in the same place as Adam Lambert – I always left empty-handed!

 No hug, no smile, no handshake, no eye contact, just nothing, nada, not even in the neighbourhood.  The Glambertinas, my dearest Glam girlfriends now refer to The Curse of Xena or to make it a little more palatable, the “jinx”.  After the Melody Tent experience, they will tell me I have a “special, VIP” seat – on the opposite side of the theatre or tent, whatever the venue.   During that performance, Adam fleetingly stood in front of our section but upon seeing the mark of the ‘X’ at the foot of our aisle, he promptly crossed the stage to the other side.

It was this show I had decided to shoot with the video camera.  Like a good piece of needlepoint, the show looks just as good on the back as the front.  My seatmates did not find this comforting however, they expected to see faces and full frontals, not tushies, adorable as they all are, as is Longineu’s bare back – whew!

 After a couple of songs,  Juneau and our friend Ellen suggested I might like to go to the other side and maybe stand in the doorway from which I would have a clear view of the stage and they would have Adam facing them. I declined the offer, they gave me the cool shoulder and looked around for empty seats.

I can dream can’t I?

 Sometimes after a scotch or two, I might let my mind wander and I recall meeting Adam, then I wake-up to realize that it was only a story I made up, not reality.  I’ve made up a lot of stories.

 My legendary wrong time/wrong place incidents have been well documented, so I won’t list them here, but I have been to eight of Adam’s performances and stood in the rain outside Much Music. zero

 Has this stopped me from writing, blogging, tweeting,  talking on our radio show, posting on Facebook – about Adam Lambert?  No.  And now this Fan Club?  Someone needs to throw a glass of ice water in my face What were you thinking?!

Perhaps my muse is a distant spirit, one who exists on a different plane than the one to which I am relegated.  Obviously everyone else is on the Adam plane and I’m the one floating in the obscurity of my own imagination. Anyone else suffering the same fate as I?  Can we start a support group?  It will be secret because no one else wants to read our whingy and whiny laments.

 Painful and deadly

 You will understand then why I won’t be reading any of your I MET HIM, I DIED AND WENT TO HEAVEN, HE’S SO GORGEOUS, HE GLOWS, HIS EYES ARE RIVETING, HE’S SO NICE!!! -anecdotes and it’s even painful to see the avatars on my page, you and he, smiling side by side.  Perhaps I could pixilate your faces, you would understand would you not?

 Some time ago, I wrote about Xena’s macabre death as an opera, so now what do I do?  I’ll just have to cry in my pillow embroidered with silk of the rarest moths by rainforest dwelling virgins and edged with lace crocheted by Irish Protestant nuns with linen spun from the flax gathered from an oasis in the Valley of the Queens in Egypt as the sun rises on even numbered days of the Babylonian calendar.

 p.s. I did receive many requests for membership in my support group- more on that later.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. annehedonia permalink
    March 15, 2012 8:03 pm

    This is a prequel to coming attractions, yes? 😉

  2. March 15, 2012 8:34 pm

    As i am thinking you are no longer cursed does that mean i’ll be left alone in the group of never met Adam alone to entertain myself I suppose. good thing I brought my imaginary friends to play with even though I suspect they have met Adam without me. I hope this re-post is leading to a great story of you meeting Adam for I would be thrilled for you if you did. XOXOAs i am thinking you are no longer cursed does that mean i’ll be left alone in the group of never met Adam alone to entertain myself I suppose. good thing I brought my imaginary friends to play with even though I suspect they have met Adam without me. I hope this re-post is leading to a great story of you meeting Adam for I would be thrilled for you if you did. XOXO

  3. Susie permalink
    March 15, 2012 9:35 pm

    I’m laughing so much!! I have that curse, too…though I was able to meet him for autograph signing after a show for 2 seconds of bliss. I, too, don’t like reading the “articles” and get even madder when I find out that people get tickets some other “magical” way other than calling and dialing and redialing for 15 minutes straight every day and also playing trivia quizzes on radio station web pages to get “points” and all for naught. And some just know the right people and fly in. But Xena, the X will melt off of your face someday, and you can dry off that pillow, because your day will come too!!!

    • April 2, 2012 2:39 am

      Dear Susie,
      Thanks for showing me so much empathy and understanding. I hope you enjoy Monday’s post.
      Xena

  4. CherelleDay permalink
    March 16, 2012 7:48 am

    It is so comforting to know we are not alone. Not that misery is actually alleviated by company, but if a fan of your stature and dedication can suffer this jinx as well ~ who am I to bemoan my misfortune which began with the Idol Live tour and persisted through a half dozen GNT events. Thank heavens my supportive Glambert hubby swears “the second tour’s the charm!”

    • April 2, 2012 2:42 am

      Dear Cherelle
      I don’t think their are categories of fans, Adam loves us all. There is nothing like a supportive hubby if your married, to that I can attest. I am confident you’re opportunity will arrive in a surprising way! Careful not to miss it!

      Xena
      xoxoxo

  5. March 16, 2012 8:48 am

    Dear Xena: until this week, I was suffering the same fate. I hated looking at everyone elses’s avatars with them and a smiling Adam. I have been to more concerts than most people, even been in the front row many times, but just could never get to meet him. And lots of my Facebook buddies have met him many times. But just this week, out of the blue, my daughter’s best friend won meet and greet passes to see Adam in DC and invited me to go with her! She doesn’t even know much about him! Anyway, I was able to see him in an intimate concert setting with only about 40 people, speak to him personally, hug him and have his arm around me for a picture. My dreams of 3 long years have come true and I have a memory to last a lifetime! So, don’t worry, your time will come when you least expect it, I know it will! Thanks for everything you post and keep the faith!

Leave a Reply

