Skip to content

Multi-Sensory Conception – Adam Debuts “Better Than I Know Myself”

January 18, 2012

By Xena

I’ve been calm, I’ve been patient, I’ve been distracted by almost every type of personal life activity including, moving homes, illness and the death of a close family member.  Last night Adam debuted Better Than I Know Myself on the Tonight Show.  This morning I awoke to a brand new reality and outlook.  Along with millions of other Adam fans, the juices of anticipation for Trespassing and a whole new, fresh album of Adam’s music, flow like hot lava.

 My normally sanguine serenity has been blown to smithereens and all it took was one performance of Adam singing Better Than I Know Myself on TV.   Lights up! and a chiseled Adonis stands at a microphone, bringing his authoritative, red carpet look to the performance stage.  Oh, that stripped-down formal look is a killer! The backlights give his startled hair a halo quality and occasionally burst across his shoulder in shards.  Altogether a holy preacher-man facade.   Look down at the floor – can you see the light-through-stained glass effect?

As the camera moves in, my eyes direct my hand to stroke the sleeve of his suit – I would say shoulder, but I’d need a leg-up.  Cashmere/silk blend?  When he sings and stretches his arms wide, a broad expanse of his pristine, tab front, formal shirt is exposed.  The entire ensemble so appropriate for an evening show where the host dresses in suit and tie.

In keeping with the elegant simplicity of his appearance, his movements are spare as all his energy goes into the vocals.  So too, the band’s actions are tight and primarily in semi-darkness, so serve no distraction from Adam’s highly expressive visage.

Will this year’s tour require an investment in a new LBD? Simple eyeliner, strong brows and subtle accessories – allowing our personalities to beam through without competition from glitzy rhinestones and sequins?  Well, maybe just a couple of sparklers.

All this and no mention of voice and music – Adam is a such a multi-faceted performer, he’s more than “The Voice”.  The first notes of pipe organ hearken us to potentially sombre, “serious music follows”, but when Adam’s voice joins with “Cold as Ice and more bitter than December….” he starts low but rises to   “…go I’d have gone by now…” in the first of several crescendos.  The message is serious and authentic but far from sombre. The classic emotional roller-coaster ride as only Adam can drive the car.  I tested my reaction numerous times – without the visuals to direct my responses.  Perfect.

This song and his voice truly invaded my dreams until I awoke with that chorus raging in a loop at the top of my mind.  Knowing what’s to come in the delicious final note, delivered unaccompanied, the song plays on to the end.

Note perfect in look, sound and expression, our young Adam  is all grown-up now.  Or is he?  He revealed some interesting observations and revelations in recent interviews which appear to indicate his evolving acceptance of his place in the world.  But, we are sure to hear and see the playful “light side” of the dichotomy he’s teased us about as this “Year of Adam Lambert” unfolds.  The video should inform us even more, but that’s it for me, patience worn thin, I might have to start nagging for more.  When’s the video coming? Next single?   Next performance?  The album!  The tour!  Maybe after tonight’s show, I’ll get that out of my system and return to my normal, cool patient self.  Until I hear BTIKM again.

   

20 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary S permalink
    January 18, 2012 7:29 pm

    Just beautiful, Xena! Perfect description of an amazing rebirth. Yes, we are all back on the train again. And what a ride!!! Our boy is just too much. Can’t let him go!

    • January 18, 2012 7:37 pm

      It is a perfect song for his sophomore debut, isn’t it?
      X

      • Mary S permalink
        January 19, 2012 2:53 pm

        Absolutely!! And now he’s topped himself on Ellen!! What more can you add?? He’s just amaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaazing!! I’m so very happy to see him BACK!!!

  2. January 18, 2012 7:54 pm

    All grown up and dressed for the prom … not the High School one with the silly pink cumber bun, no, the University one, with a graduate degree in music, fashion and visual arts !!!

    • January 18, 2012 8:35 pm

      Delivering the valedictory address in song!
      X

    • glamity58 permalink
      January 19, 2012 10:47 pm

      Love your analogy el Kat. I like his new look. He was great on Leno and fabulous on Ellen. I didn’t like his interview with Ellenr because I hate the incident in Finland and really am not excited about this relationship. I don’t get this relationship at all. I fear it will damage his career. I hope I’m wrong.

  3. January 18, 2012 8:33 pm

    I was there and I couldn’t believe that he looked younger and better looking than I’ve ever seen him and the performance was electric. Completely amazing.

  4. Angel permalink
    January 19, 2012 2:59 am

    All I can say . . . I cried and cried. Can’t help it. ADAM just gives me overwhelming joy in my heart. He was so gorgeous. I love the new natural simple elegant look. STUNNING ADAM! ELECTRIC performance! I thank GOD for ADAM!

  5. Kathy Jo Curry permalink
    January 19, 2012 12:37 pm

    Xena, you nailed it! I love this article. I’m always drawn in by the way you write, and I usually always agree with all your fascinating observations. Plus you always comment on his clothes, which, as someone who had a former career in meanswear design and manufacturing, I always take notice of too. Thank you

    • January 19, 2012 2:33 pm

      Thank you! When someone puts as much effort into his appearance as Adam does, it must be acknowledged, don’t you agree? I am trying to find out whose suit he’s wearing, do you have any ideas? I know he loves D&G.

      Xena

  6. Barbara Amirto permalink
    January 19, 2012 12:54 pm

    Xena,talk about perfection,this piece was your finest moment!!! I felt so in touch with your feelings. Thank you for making my month!!! Barb

    • January 19, 2012 2:34 pm

      Hi Barb! As I mentioned, I have been distracted for some time and really unable to write much but seeing Adam on Tuesday night was the perfect jolt I needed. He’s still my muse.

      Xena

  7. January 19, 2012 1:41 pm

    Brilliant discription of everything.

  8. annehedonia permalink
    January 19, 2012 2:20 pm

    Heart-felt and intense review~ a perfect mirror held up to a perfect performance! And I loved, as always, the notes on Adam’s sartorial splendor. Very nicely realized…

    • January 19, 2012 2:43 pm

      Your feedback is most welcome annehedonia!

      Adam is always a “multi-sensory” experience for me and I think that’s what his intentions are. What you think? Wonder what scent he’s wearing these days. That would add another sense and I think I can imagine the texture and feel of his suit. smooth and soft
      Xena
      xoxo

  9. January 19, 2012 5:27 pm

    Xena, What articulate writing and couldn’t have said it better, and, with family background in menswear and clothing I take note of the same detail as you’ve described. This will be an exciting year for Adam and the Glamily as Trespassing unfolds and we share in Adam’s growth and success. Thank you for your intelligent and observant writings and sharing with us all. Hugs,

  10. Lenore Lee permalink
    February 8, 2012 9:36 am

    Thank you for the clear, concise writing and your love for our Adam. He moved me from the beginning when we watched the first glow of his ascent to stardom on Idol. Adam fills my days with joy, with a new appreciation for pop. Adam’s honesty, humor, idealism & beauty inside and out, deliver more than any other performer I have ever known. His understated look becomes him and will engage a new following. Not to mention the exquisite vocal quality Adam exhibits! Carpe diem, Adam.

Leave a Reply

