Skip to content

Perfect Aftermath

March 10, 2011

By Juneau

Adam, you said your heart is full on Ryan Seacrest’s show yesterday. Is this a contagious condition? Because my heart feels full to bursting today. I think a few heartstrings popped watching you tonight on American Idol. You killed me softly with that acoustic “Aftermath”, your voice a rolling river of melody – your incomparable legato like a large, strong hand gently cradling my soul and carrying me to a place of peace, healing and hope.

You nailed every detail. The stripped arrangement framed the beauty of your voice perfectly. You sang with exquisite control, letting flow your dulcet tones to comfort a broken heart, and then effortlessly shifting to a fierce gravelly sound in the anthemic chorus.

Tonight your job was to reach out and ensnare new fans, and remind millions of viewers why you so captivated them two seasons ago. You went for that understated, “Tracks of My Tears” styling in that exquisite suit, your hair upswept and soft, only a touch of eyeliner, and I must say you looked as beautiful as I’ve ever seen you. (And my husband approved!) You inhabited your song, animating it just the right amount. You gave us a master class in how to make love to the camera. And you flashed that megawatt smile. Was it good? Oh yeeeesssss, that was amazing baby. The. Best. Ever.

And after slaying us with your song, you delivered the coup de grace: You spoke about your message – the message in the song you co-wrote – and you eagerly proclaimed to the world your support for the Trevor Project. No more hiding. You took a trip into the glitter, and all you feel is love. Excuse me, I gotta go grab a tissue…

OK, I’m back.

You keep getting better and better, and for me that’s what elevates you into a league of your own. You have a huge desire to be great, and a capacious mind and heart to take in what life gives you, consider it, consume it and grow. You have been so generous about opening up your life to your fans, that we can partake vicariously in your journey. It’s our journey too, and you have given a voice to so many who did not have one.

Buy the Aftermath Remix here

48 Comments leave one →
  1. March 12, 2011 6:50 am

    Adam so pretty and the best singer

  2. Starlight permalink
    March 12, 2011 10:46 am

    Ooooh Juneau, what beautiful writing for another beautiful performance by such a beautiful singer/artist/human being! And how unbelievably clever and generous is he – using this great opportunity to make such a strong statement, and not for himself, but for others – I’m just speechless by how huge his heart is! I don’t know of ANY other artist, especially one so early in their career, who would have done what he did.

    You’re so right: he just keeps getting better and better. I’m so proud of him, my heart feels full to bursting – I don’t even have the words to express my feelings.

  3. March 12, 2011 2:23 pm

    There will be a forever place in my heart for this wonderful man.

  4. Val DeGrace permalink
    March 12, 2011 2:38 pm

    *sniffles* So well written. What I was unable to verbalize….thank you!

  5. celtcwrtr permalink
    March 13, 2011 3:25 pm

    It was even more impressive live.

    Totally expected an exquisite stripped down version on the national platform; the surprise was YET another arrangement, and the addition of the extra instruments. Once they rolled out those drums and Issac and Tommy came onstage w/ Monte we hooted and shouted our approval to them until Adam took the stage and the show commenced.

    So totally awesome. Adam nailed every aspect of that performance. Hooray for him, hooray for the remix for the Trevor Project, and major kudos to AI and 19.

    Just.so.glad.I.was.there.

  6. DeDeDinah permalink
    March 13, 2011 8:22 pm

    Who the $#%#$ is Freemantle International and why can they block this inspiring video?

    • buffy522 permalink
      March 14, 2011 1:15 am

      I know dedediana. It’s not like we are going to sell it/ I wish I would have downloaded the minute someone posted. Hope someone can find us one….

    • March 14, 2011 7:36 pm

      I put in a new YouTube link. Hope that will stay up for awhile. It is a copyright violation to post these… but I think American Idol and Fox would have a weak case unless they are planning to sell the video (in which case, I will be the first one on iTunes to buy it!) – J

      • buffy522 permalink
        March 15, 2011 2:42 pm

        Thanks J. But I can download that one either. I have it though. I wanted the whole lead in and interview. It took my two years to get the Idol snippets. Now if I can just keep the same cable provider, I will have it on my television forever!

        And if anyone hears of E! Hollywood story on again, please shout out. I missed it today! And changing cable companies results in all your recorded shows being lost. No one on either end of the companies seems to know how to transfer. Strange. Seems like it would be very easy. I bought a recorder to copy videos, but it was a disaster!

  7. NorthDino permalink
    March 15, 2011 11:35 pm

    Great performance by Adam and the band, love the clear vocals on this version and the band was just right in sound. Oh for those wondering about Tommy’s new acoustic bass there is an article explaining the type of bass it is…
    http://www.ovationguitars.com/soundroom/article/ovation_acoustic_bass_graces_american_idol

    • March 16, 2011 12:22 pm

      Thanks for that link! I was wondering what instrument that was. Tommy didn’t get much camera time, so it was hard to see how much he was actually playing.. the glimpses I caught made it seem like he was there more for the pretty! – J

Trackbacks

  1. Top 10 Adam Lambert Moments from 2011 « On the Meaning of Adam Lambert
  2. Radio show tonight! Top 10 Adam Lambert Moments of 2011 « On the Meaning of Adam Lambert

Leave a Reply

