Skip to content

Adam Lambert Poetry – The Challenge

August 25, 2010

For Eric, Happy Birthday!! Love, J & X

“…you have the spirit and intelligence to take your gifts and change the world – just by not being afraid to be you.” ~ Juneau

The Challenge
(July, 2010)

Walk your chosen road
With a warrior’s fierce determination
Arm yourself
With weapons incorruptible:
– Seer’s vision, inward looking
Understanding the way ahead,
– Heart full of feeling –
Passionate, compassionate,
– And the absolute conviction
That you deserve to stand
Toe-to-toe
With anyone, anywhere,
King, saint or poet.

Present a challenge,
Gauntlet thrown
For all to emulate you
In their own inimitable way.

– by Annehedonia

Collage by @LALALAMBRIT

A note from the poet: The picture from the For Your Entertainment album art photo shoot had stuck with me all this time – the black-polished nail is positioned as to suggest a third eye, or the caste mark of a Brahmin.  The middle finger, in American Sign Language, is called “the feeling finger”, and well, we know it’s used with feeling in at least one familiar context!  You know I can’t resist looking for deeper channels to plumb!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 25, 2010 10:27 am

    Annehedonia,

    Thank you for the inspiring poem. Adam’s example helps me to rise to my own challenges in life-he is a role model. And I love the collage. Do you do these?

    • August 25, 2010 8:16 pm

      Hi Isabel,
      Annehedonia is a sorceress with words, is she not? The collage is by “LALALAMBRIT”, a Glambert who resides on the Isle of Man. We’ve featured many of her lovely photo collages before. I think the two of them make an ideal pairing. – J

  2. Alexandra permalink
    August 25, 2010 10:41 am

    “Perfect and Amazing Collage” Thank you for most everyday enjoyable posts ever.

  3. Cyndy permalink
    August 25, 2010 12:42 pm

    Love the references to the Third Eye chakra ( energy center). I noticed that immediately as I practice and teach yoga. I think Adam is a natural yogi, as he has referenced asking the Universe for the opportunity to be his best and that he sometimes need to ground himself when he has too much energy, either physical or emotional. These are classic mind-body-spirit experiences. Even when he is joking about yoga as he did during his Brooke dance off in the Cohasset show, he was present, just pausing to watch her.
    Thank you Annehedonia for your artistry and to all the contributions of fans to serve the other fans. Those eyes…has anyone blended them into face of a tiger, or other big cat? He certainly has the grace and blend of power and quiet that they do. Adam as jaguar…sigh

  4. Susie permalink
    August 25, 2010 12:46 pm

    This is absolutely beautiful!!!!! I love it!!!!!!!!

  5. Scootersmom permalink
    August 25, 2010 1:42 pm

    This is just so beautiful, both the words and the photo, it brings me to tears! Thank you for sharing this, it so perfectly describes all that is Adam!

  6. annehedonia permalink
    August 26, 2010 1:10 pm

    Thank you, all for your kind comments. You know I value them highly! Writing poems is a way I can keep the good creative energy going that Adam has offered to us fans, and in a way, “thank” him. LALALAMBRIT’s collages are a great place to spin off from – love them!

    Cyndy ~ A friend of mine who understands such things has always called Adam “an energy worker”, and I would have to concur. He seems to have an understanding of the way the physical and the unseen are connected and related – or are different aspects of the same thing, if you’re inclined toward quantum physics.

    …and since you mentioned Adam’s eyes & cats in the same sentence, I’ll regale you with something from the other side of the poetic spectrum (and also break the nice serious mood here and possibly offend some people ;)):

    I Wish My Cat Was* Adam Lambert
    (written sometime last year – we don’t care when!)

    He’s black, he’s sleek, he’s gorgeous
    The eyes are just the same
    He’s proud of his tail
    He can let out a wail
    In a Lambert-like refrain
    He snuggles close for petting
    Exposes his underside
    He rubs his lips on my fingertips
    (Don’t worry: I couldn’t find his kitty-thing if I tried – too much fur…)
    He jumps on my bed each morning
    Races me there every night
    Were we talking Adam
    Instead of a cat
    My soul would surely take flight
    One’s trying to find a pussy
    The other can’t say such
    Either way
    At the end of the day
    I’m screwed – but not so much
    Adam’s good at morphing
    Shape-shifting is his style
    If he could teach my cat his tricks
    I’d wear a Cheshire smile.

    (*or “Were” – I know this calls for subjunctive mood, but I took poetic license…)

  7. Cyndy permalink
    August 27, 2010 11:34 am

    Adam-cat poem….OK now all day I’m going to be thinking of the phrase “kitty-thing” 🙂

Leave a Reply

