Skip to content

Adam Lambert poetry – Surreal

July 30, 2010

by Annehedonia, July 2010

Collage by @LALALAMBRIT

Real surreal you are, my baby
Lovely beyond all reason
Yet about your pretty plumage
Tongue-in-chic
Magritte’s sky-bound eye
Blue above your head
Man Ray’s disembodied kiss
Full upon your cheek
You work a staircase
Like Duchamp’s “Nude Descending”
Oh, what might it be
To walk into your dreams?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 30, 2010 8:21 am

    This poem is lovely. Whoever the author, you are very talented. It is a perfect description for Adam and his life. Thank you for sharing.

  2. Susie permalink
    July 31, 2010 2:57 am

    brilliant and inspiring….thank you!!

  3. giiny strong permalink
    July 31, 2010 6:18 pm

    Have you read the article in Huffington Post Adam’s Idenity Crisis? By Melody Breyer-Grell? What do you think? You express yourself so well can’t wait to hear from you guys.

    Love your book and your blog.

    Ginny Strong
    “Grand”Glambert

  4. Circe permalink
    July 31, 2010 8:15 pm

    Annehedonia: Beautiful, as always. Thank you.

  5. Annehedonia permalink
    August 1, 2010 6:58 am

    Thank you all for the kind commentary! Some time ago, Juneau enlisted LALALAMBRIT to create a few photo collages for poems I’d written, and she came up with some pretty stunning images. So I thought it might be fun to turn the tables and use some of her many wonderful collages as inspiration. This was the first & there are more – I’ve chosen ones that show off some of the different facets of Adam’s persona. Speaking of which…

    Ginny, I have yet to read the article you mention, but I’d be anxious to. Thanks for the heads up!

    ~ Anne

  6. annehedonia permalink
    August 1, 2010 8:05 am

    Hi again, Ginny (lol) ~ Ok, so I just read the Melody Breyer-Grell piece in the Huffington Post. And I found it to be objectionable. I mean, did someone appoint her official arbiter of what Adam SHOULD be doing? I loved “Come to Me, Bend to Me” too (as stated enthusiastically above) but that didn’t make me “should” all over him! I also feel as if she’s stereotyping gays – as if “gay” and “the boy next door” are mutually exclusive. I don’t know if it was intended (and why would it be) but the whole thing came off as arrogant and insensitive, at least to me.

    To be absolutely frank, I definitely feel as though Adam has yet to “find” himself completely as a performer – and to know how best to showcase his incredible and rare gifts too. BUT hell – give the guy a chance! As one of his friends (I think Scarlett) stated in that RS interview (parphrasing): “Sometmes it’s difficult when you’ve got SO much”. Yep. He deserves the right to walk his own path, experience his own kind of growth at his own rate and to make his own personal revelation in his own time – if he’s going to at all. Everyone’s different.

    In the meantime, what he’s doing is incredibly compelling and entertaining, for me. I enjoy spending some of my spare time (let’s just say MUCH of it) being a very interested observer! Melody can spend hers deciding on what other performers SHOULD do. Sorry, but *ugh*.

    • August 1, 2010 9:46 am

      Beautifully expressed, Annehedonia! When I read that Huff post piece, I thought here’s another example of old-school thinking. Adam! Find a box and stay in it! Like you, I feel Adam is still finding his way as an artist – indeed, isn’t that a life-long journey? – and he is fortunate to have fans who simply believe in him and are willing to support him along the way. We are diverse in our tastes and how we respond to his various efforts, but we believe in his gifts and feel he deserves them, feel privileged to witness his growth, and are delighted and grateful when he delivers. – J

  7. Annehedonia permalink
    August 1, 2010 11:24 am

    Hi Juneau ~ Right on, right on to your post! LOL – let’s have a mutual-admiration-you-are-so-right-on fest! Just kidding. But really now… I especially loved this:

    “I feel Adam is still finding his way as an artist – indeed, isn’t that a life-long journey?”

    I think some of the “old school” b.s. consists of valuing product over process. It’s said that “art” is the process and what results (a painting, for instance) is merely the material evidence of that process. Having been involved in all that for many moons, I would heartily agree. And I tend to think of process-orientation as being of a more stereotypically “feminine” mindset as opposed to product-orientation. But that’s no doubt my own prejudicial view. Of course, Adam is also involved in a commercial enterprise which is typically all about product. So it’s an interesting balancing act. And sort of an addictive one to watch. And evidently, I like to watch. LOL!

  8. RoRo permalink
    August 1, 2010 1:09 pm

    Like the beautiful Alexander the Great, it is no surprise that this beautiful man inspires poetry. With his fine features and aristocratic look, his beauty will last the ages, and launch a thousand texts!

Leave a Reply

