Skip to content

Birth of a Muse – Adam Lambert

April 28, 2010

By Juneau and Xena, co-authors of On the Meaning of Adam Lambert

Juneau & Xena Reveal Their Strategy

to

Find Your Spark

O for a Muse of fire that would ascend
The brightest heaven of invention

– William Shakespeare, Henry V

A Muse is Born

In the beginning, there was Adam.  He sang, swiveled and charmed us into chanting “more, more, more…..”, until our weekly dose of  a virtual aphrodesiac stopped and we began a new life to try to capture and hold onto the tingles and twinges we felt anew.

Apollo had appeared, bringing sunshine to enlighten our hearts and minds to the art and music of which he is a creator.  We were receptacles to his life-giving seed. Like those hapless nymphs of Greek mythology, we brought forth…a friggin’ book!!

Were we seeking inspiration? No. Were our minds bursting to tell stories? No. We were occupied with our busy lives and careers. However, once our Muse insinuated himself into our subconscious, he cleaned up the cobwebs of latent creativity and with his voice, visage, charismatic personality and Svengali ability to connect to us through his eyes Adam evoked in us feelings and emotions so long buried in our minds, distant yet vaguely familiar.

We reacted from someplace other than our consciousness, viscerally and uncensored.  As analytical people, we had to explore and understand our unfamiliar responses so we searched for answers, until our heads were bursting.

When Allegra Huston posted her article “What is it About Adam Lambert?”, this seminal piece on the Adamizing of Allegra herself and women she met while travelling the U.S., validated our feelings and gave us permission to admit our obsession and importantly, to write about our experiences.  With Adam as our Muse and now Allegra, we expressed our feelings with images and thoughts, connecting us to a number of  other similarly aroused women and together we created a safe place to realize our creativity and express it through writing.

International in scope, we connected through a shared but secret passion, so we used pseudonyms as we exposed ourselves in mind and soul within a supportive environment.

Do we have any profound words of wisdom to impart? No, but we do have our Top Ten Tactics for those with latent, unexpressed creativity and are derived from our own experiences.

Top Ten Tactics for Storming Your Imagination

1)      Get in touch with who you were when you were a teenager. What lit your fire then?

2)      Appreciate how much you have grown since you were a teen.

3)      Own who you are – especially the painful parts. You will be amazed by the energy this frees up.

4)      Be open to opportunities that arise for serendipitous events.  You never know where you will find your muse.

5)      Give yourself permission to venture outside your comfort zone and pursue a secret passion.

6)      All of us have at least a little imagination and creativity, but all too often an inner censor keeps us from expressing ourselves. Just put on your red dancing shoes and see what happens.

7)      Find a safe, supportive environment in which to test the waters.

8)      Through technology, the entire world is now open to you to find kindred spirits, others who will enjoy playing in your sandbox – explore it shamelessly.

9)      When you hesitate, ask yourself, what’s the worst that can happen?

10)   Be fabulous – eye liner, manicure, look your best and make eye contact. You are communicating that you value yourself and those around you enough to make the effort.

Juneau’s Heart is Captured

Xena’s Moment of Truth
10 Comments leave one →
  1. annehedonia permalink
    April 28, 2010 10:56 pm

    J & X ~ I just received THE BOOK (no, not a version of the Bible with that title) a couple of days ago via post and I gotta say: What a compendium of joy! I have had to force myself to exercise some discipline and to savor rather than devour. Getting my mitts on your masterwork is the best thing I’ve done for myself in quite some time. What a treasure and a revelation!

    It truly is a work of art, both visually and as a written artistic conception. Your creativity and intelligence (and hotness – lol… no, seriously) is pretty amazing and inspirational. There are moments when I have the temerity to recognize myself in your observations, down to the mention of the Ecstasy of St. Teresa (I’m thinking of the statue by Bernini). Not that I’m Teresa, but well, you know…

    I’m saving my temporary tattoo for some special rite of passage or arcane what-have-you moment. Until such time as I complete my reading, I won’t know what that might be… I wasn’t here at the inception of the Salon, so it was nice to read “Find Your Spark” as an appreciation of how it began.

    • April 29, 2010 1:39 pm

      We’re so happy that our book is giving you so much pleasure!! Could you do us a wonderful favor and also post your comment at Amazon? It will be much more visible there, and reader reviews are tremendously helpful. Thank you so much!! – J & X

  2. annehedonia permalink
    April 29, 2010 3:52 pm

    Consider it done; I’ll happily comply! I’ll revise it somewhat to suit a wider readership, but you can count on me posting within a few days. 🙂

  3. GRACE permalink
    April 30, 2010 1:10 pm

    OMG adam, adam, adam,he is just a very very nice and a genuine person and full of life,when i listen to him,he makes me forget my troubles,and when i see him on TV he makes me smile ,and gives me a good feelings of myself. And his songs are soooo good and he is a very very super perfect singer….he is just ADAM LAMBERT..we love you ADAM <—–(cupcake)adam's nickname

  4. Susie permalink
    May 1, 2010 2:05 am

    Oh, thank you so, so much for this post, this validation, these words of wisdom….just yesterday, I sat in my therapist’s office and we talked about Adam (as we always do) and she pointed out how Adam shook up my world, was the catalyst for change, excited me, gave me purpose and something to look forward to. And yes, with technology, I have found a home among the garden of pseudonyms, growing togther, rising towards the sun that is Adam, stretching our petals, blooming into creatures of beauty, rooting down deep into places we didn’t know existed, and making the world a better place for it, with our smiles, our eyes that sparkle, and that tune we are forever humming coming from our lips.

  5. annehedonia permalink
    May 4, 2010 6:45 am

    I’m STILL enjoying a great read! As a matter of fact, I began at the beginning again and it’s no less entertaining (or surprising) the second time through. I’m being insomniac lately, early morning before work, but that does not explain my reading habits. The compelling nature of the writing accounts for that! 🙂

    …noticed you mentioned Adam’s eyes frequently, so here’s some little “Eye Candy” for you in the form of a couple of poems. Neither is new. They were inspired by pictures, both of the “black box across the eyes to protect the innocent” nature – but the opposite of that: a rectangular panel featuring just those magnificent peepers!

    This first one is the first “serious” Adam poem I tried – after posting several “funnies” on TALC & the picture that inspired it is the background for their “Welcome” page.
    Someone asked me for a poem that day, and I was at work, so it’s a five-minute-stare-into-space-and-crank-it-out effort:

    Bluegreen
    (October, 2009)

    I want to freefall
    Through that bluegreen portal
    That lovely gateway
    To all that is
    Sweet and kind and courageous
    Behind the shadow
    Beyond the glittering facade
    Into that soul
    Unique and singular
    And know you
    As you know yourself

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Number 2…
    Another request based on a similar picture. In this one, though, Adam’s eyes appear much bluer than usual, and you can see a little patch of ginger roots right in the front of his hairline where he was in need of a raven-haired touch up. Loved that! This is what I call a “found poem”. I didn’t so much write as arrange it. Mostly, it was a listing of qualities of the color blue as described by an online company selling beads. I thought all of it applied to Adam:

    The Meaning of Blue
    (March 2010)

    Blue iris, living orb of clarity
    Emanates tenderness
    Tranquility and spiritual awareness
    Opens the mind to realities
    Beyond the physical senses
    Stimulates appreciation of music
    And the arts
    Wondrous, heavenly blue
    Soars above us
    Look to it for peace,
    Hope and inspiration
    Blue rules the throat chakra
    Blue allows you to tell the truth

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Bonus: haiku (from the same picture. Just couldn’t let those roots escape unmentioned):

    Ginger

    Small patch of ginger
    Just the right size to receive
    Reassuring kiss

  6. irish1139 permalink
    May 9, 2010 12:12 pm

    I feel like the universe has attached me via an invisible umbilical cord to a creature named Adam Lambert. And its not just me, millions of women all over this planet are just as obsessed. I cannot detach. I have tried, and I just keep falling deeper and deeper under his spell.

    From the age of 1 to 91, women all over the world are obsessing and writing love letters to a creature we don’t know and will never know. I have lived a fairly long life, been impressed by many great leaders, movie stars, entertainers, both men and women, but I have never been a fan who has given her life to obsessing over a 28-year old glam rock star/singer.

    I am going to get answers as to why, or die trying. This seems insane to me. There must be something of importance in this life that I can attach myself to that would bring meaning to humanity. No, I spend my time flailing over a 28- year old, beautiful, ethereal angel from another dimension. I buy his music, his friends’ music, donate to his causes, and listen to everything word that comes out of his mouth like it was a gospel. What is going on? This doesn’t, or is not suppose to, happen to mature, educated women.

    Help!!!

    • May 9, 2010 12:21 pm

      Welcome to the club of the afflicted! The question to which you are trying to find the answer is the one that consumed us, led to our posting on the Web, turning our thoughts into a book, and now this blog. This isn’t “supposed” to happen, but it did, and it’s marvelous!

  7. Carin permalink
    October 2, 2011 6:16 am

    I’m barely 18 years old and where most teens scream over teenage boys (the only one I like is Taylor Lautner lol) whilst I scream for Adam Lambert. He’s just in a totally different league to any other young man on the planet, in appearance, talent and attitude. He’s my inspiration and it’s a shame that so many in my school don’t feel the same way about him (the latter though shame the majority in their love and support for this wonderful young man 😉 Can’t wait to be writing more short stories of him ❤

Leave a Reply

